2017 · Bookishness · Challenges

Royalty Readathon: TBR!

So. I am a nonce. Aka, I thought today was the 19th May, not the 20th – aka, when the Royalty Readathon starts!

The Royalty Readthon was started by ToBeRead both on Twitter and WordPress, and I’m lucky enough to be a cohost! I’m hoping to be able to run some sprints on Twitter – you can follow me @MB1098, and you can also follow the hashtag, #RoyaltyReadathon.

Anyway, here is my TBR for the readathon. There are 5 challenges, and I am hitting all 5… but with a twist!

SFF (sci-fi fantasy) with a royal protagonist:

For this one, I am reading The Queen by Kiera Cass. This is an eBook novella in the The Selection series. I haven’t actually finished the series, but my library doesn’t currently hold The Crown, so this’ll have to do! It’s nice and short and should be speedy to get through.

Royalty fairytale retelling

For this one, I’ve chosen Cinder by Marissa Meyer. This is the first in The Lunar Chronicles series and I recently bought it; I am SO excited to read it!

Real-life royalty

I’ve chosen Tsar: The Lost World of Nicolas and Alexandra by Peter Kurth. I’ll be picking this one up from my uni library… tomorrow, hopefully! I’ve always been interested in the Tsars of Russia, so it’ll be nice to actually pick up a book about them.

Long-lost royal book

For this one, again I’m reading Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I actually have another book I need to read for university this week, so reading this much on its own is going to be a big ask!

Contemporary novel with a royal character

Now, this is where it gets interesting. I couldn’t actually find a book I was interested in. So. Here’s the plan.

Not only am I a reader, I am also a writer; therefore, I am going to write my own contemporary novel with a royal (or ‘royal’ – there’s your hint!) character! I’ll be uploading around 2000 words, or 2 chapters (short chapters <3) on Wattpad every day, and it’ll hopefully be a short story about 10-15k long by the end of the week.

You can follow me on Wattpad here, and remember to check out my Twitter! I’ll upload the whole thing (maybe in 3 parts?) on my blog at the end of the readathon.

So there you have the readathon! Remember to follow the Royalty Readathon on Twitter, and use the hashtag #RoyaltyReadathon! Feel free to post your TBRs in the comments below.

Happy reading, and happy royal reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

