Poetry

Poem | Jest (GloPoWriMo 2017)

glopo2017button1
This isn’t my graphic… but I have no idea where it’s originally from, sorry! 

It is day 1 of GloPoWriMo*! Today, my personal prompt is joker, and the prompt given from NaPoWriMo is a “Kay-Ryan-esque” poem. I decided to use both of these prompts in today’s poem… so here it is!


Jest (inspired by Heartless by Marissa Meyer; it makes more sense if you have read the book… or if you know the context of the Red Queen from Alice in Wonderland)

He sits on the balcony,
a grin on his face,
his knees
crossed over and twisted.

A black and white hat
on his head is crooked
and his smile, once loving,
is dead.

A jester not laughing,
a spectre not ghosting
is unnatural;
but, then, so is life.

She ignores him, trying
to avoid side-eyeing,
but he still sits out there all night.


Ta-da!

I hope you enjoyed that poem, I really enjoyed writing it and I’m sharing it because I’m happy with it! As I said in my first post, I’m not sure if I’m going to share every day but I might because that’d be awesome.

Have you written a poem today? (It doesn’t have to be for Na/GloPoWriMo!) Feel free to link it in the comments below, I would love to read it!

*Global Poetry Writing Month

Leave a Reply

