2017 · Positivity & Happiness

March Reading Wrap-Up & Haul | 2017

So March is already over…?!?! What?

A fair bit happened in March, like coming home from university, and I also blogged, like, a lot. I also published 17 posts (!) and I had a whopping 695 views from 221 visitors! Wow! Thank you guys so much for looking at my little old blog. ❤

Onto the wrap up. According to Goodreads, I have now finished my 50th as in fiftieth book of the year. Whaaaaaaaaaaat. Basically March seems to be a month for saying “whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat”. Anyway. Here’s the wrap up!

Wrap-Up

  1. The Way by Swann’s by Marcel Proust
    The less said about this one, the better.
  2. George by Alex Gino
    This is a sweet little MG book about a transgender girl. I enjoyed it, but it was a little wish-fulfilling.
  3. A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
    I looooooved this book! It taught me so much about sign language and mutism, and I felt I really related to the anxiety.
  4. If you Want to Write by Brenda Ueland
    I also loved this book. This is a non-fiction/self-help/memoir about writing, and I really enjoyed it and found it so inspiring. I want to get my own copy as this was a a library book.
  5. The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
    A graphic novel about growing up in Iran when the war started. It wasn’t what I expected, but I enjoyed it anyway.
  6. The Lie Tree by Francis Hardinge
    This book was fab! I love magical realism, and although this was a lot darker than I expected I really enjoyed it.
  7. Who Let the Gods Out? by Maz Evans
    This was such a cute little MG novel, but it actually also focussed on some really hard issues like young carers. I think this is going to be an important novel, and I look forward to the sequel.
  8. The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace
    This poetry collection has prompted lots of thought from me about what is poetry. I loved the messages and what Lovelace actually writes, but yes, many thoughts about this book!
  9. Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook
    This was an interesting and different poetry collection, where Cook writes poems and then does “blackout” poetry in the second half, with her own poems. I loved the blackout poetry, possibly more, but the whole collection was refreshing and interesting.
  10. Seven Types of Ambiguity by William Empson
    Does anyone ever really understand this book? I kind of did, but mostly I loved how weird Empson was and yet he still got published. There is hope for me yet.
  11. Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard
    I loooooooved this book, too! I was convinced the whole way through something huge was going to be revealed about one of the characters but yes it was a lovely book. I can’t wait to see what Barnard writes next!
  12. The Story Cure by Dinty W Moore
    I have to say: if you are looking for a writing book, don’t read this one. It was good and offered some good advice, but not what I was looking for and I wouldn’t recommend.
  13. Jonesy #1 by Sam Humphries
    Despite the character being quite scary, this was a sweet little MG graphic novel.
  14. Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book by Jennifer Donnelly
    I have already seen BATB twice and I loved it both times. Whilst I thought this book was a little juvenile in places, I loved it too!
  15. Animal by Sara Pascoe 
    This book was fab! It was the BOTM for the 12/12 book club, and I found it really interesting, heartwarming, and funny.
  16. Jolly Foul Play by Robin Stevens
    I loooooooooove Stevens’ books so much! I simply had to buy this one as I had books 1-3 and then book 5… so, y’know… it was just begging. Basically, this book was wonderful and I highly recommend the series!
  17. The One by Kiera Cass
    Well, I read this just to finish the series really! It did keep me hooked, but there were some points where I wanted to roll my eyes! The ending was a bit fantastical, but then again, it is a fantasy.

Book Haul

  • River of Ink by Paul MM Cooper
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
  • Anatomy of a Soldier by Harry Parker
  • Mother Moon by Bob Goddard
  • A Galaxy of Starfish ed. by Sophie Essex
  • Jolly Foul Play by Robin Stevens
  • Mistletoe and Murder by Robin Stevens
  • SS-GB by Len Deighton
  • His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet

Ah, quite a big haul yet again… Still, I’ve already read one and I hope that a lot more will follow in the near future!

There you have my reading wrap up and haul for March 2017! Have you read/do you want to read any of the books here? What did you read in March? 🙂

Leave a Reply

