2017 · Poetry

Happy National Poetry Month 2017! | GloPoWriMo

glopo2017button1Hallo! Happy National Poetry Month 2017! (Or Global Poetry Writing Month (GloPoWriMo) so I can participate from over the pond!)

Yes, if you didn’t know, April is National Poetry Month. I think it’s in the USA, but hey-ho, I’m stealing it.

Poetry has become important to me over the past few months, and therefore I am really excited about April being National Poetry Month. Poetry is a way for me to express myself in a way I struggle to do in prose (I can write about other people and myself in prose, but not in such a personal way!).

Poetry has also been a way for me to connect with other people, like in my open mic nights. It’s brought me closer to my friend Natalie at university. It’s been a way for me to heal through poetry collections like Milk and Honey and The Princess Saves Herself in This One.

This month, I am really excited to “announce” something, I guess: for every day in April, I will be writing at least one poem! I will be using the prompts I have laid out in this page. I have written 30 of my own prompts and I will be using them, but also if I fancy using the NaPoWriMo prompts, I’ll be doing those, too!

NaPoWriMo actually released an early-bird prompt: the prompt is haibun, which is a poetry style I had never heard of before. Therefore, here is my attempt at a haibun poem:


HOME & AWAY

They are my prized possession, hundreds of them collected on shelves and displayed. They are the last thing I see when I shut my eyes; the first thing I see when I wake. World after world bound between two pieces of thin cardboard, always ready for me to prise them open and enjoy a new story. I can go wherever I choose, I can go back in time or forward or just to another country even when I have to find the strength to rise from my bed.

Anxiety plagues
me. Trails of dust left on the
bookshelves; my safe home.


Thank you guys for reading this post! Are you doing anything to celebrate Glo/NaPoWriMo?

Also: I am going to be in both the Hampshire and Norwich areas over April, so if you know of any events (or any happening online!) then please let me know in the comments below as I would love to be involved! ❤

Until the next time, (and feel free to link me any of your posts!)

Hannah 😀

3 thoughts on “Happy National Poetry Month 2017! | GloPoWriMo

Leave a Reply

