food · Positivity & Happiness · Society

Malteser Cupcake Recipe! #bakeamillion

If you didn’t know, Comic Relief is coming up in the UK (24th March!) and as always, there are bake sales and people doing plenty of weird things across the UK. Maltesers’ campaign this year is #bakeamillion – basically, for everything you bake with their products and post on social media with the hashtag, they will donate £5 (up to £1,000,000!) to Comic Relief!

I am totally not sponsored to do this video, but I really want to share my recipe for cupcakes I baked earlier today, because I think they’re the best cupcakes I have ever made. I did the recipe off the top of my head, and wow they turned out great.

Ingredients

For the cupcake:

  • 150g butter
  • 150g sugar
  • 120g self-raising flour
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk

For the icing:

  • 180g butter
  • 250g icing sugar
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • Maltesers! I used a Teasers bar that I cut into chunks, but I think that using the actual balls would look better. 🙂

You will also need:

  • Cupcake tray
  • Cupcake cases (this recipe, for me, made 12 poofy cupcakes)
  • An electric whisk – optional, but highly recommended
  • Assorted cutlery

Method

  1. Preheat the oven – I think mine was on 200 (someone changed it soon after!) but 180 is good too (that’s on fan).
  2. Cream the sugar and the butter together.
  3. Add in both of the eggs!
  4. Add in the flour (half and half so it doesn’t explode) and the cocoa powder.
  5. Mix in the two tablespoons of milk.
  6. Put into the cupcake cases – about half to 2/3 should do it. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
  7. Whilst they’re baking, do the washing up…
  8. …and make the icing!
  9. To make the icing, firstly whisk up the butter.
  10. Then, in 50g portions, add in the icing sugar and whisk between. You might have to cover the rim of the bowl with your hand so you don’t get an explosion.
  11. Add in the cocoa powder!
  12. Once the cupcakes are done and cooled (make sure they are cool, otherwise the icing will melt), ice them! I did it with a spoon and a knife to smooth them, but a piping bag would’ve been great.
  13. Put whatever Maltesers product you’re using on top. Aside from the first (which you can see above!), I shoved the pieces into the actual cupcake so they stood up.
  14. That’s it! Remember to take a photo and share it on social media with the hashtag #BakeAMillion before March 24th for Maltesers to donate £5. 🙂

(And just a friendly reminder – I was not sponsored to make this blog post! (I wish, haha.))

I really hope you guys enjoy this recipe! I would love to know how it goes in the comments below. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Malteser Cupcake Recipe! #bakeamillion

Leave a Reply

