Zines

Mini Zine March 2017 | #2: Doodles in Biro

It’s Mini-Zine March! This is a “thing” set up by Sea Green Zines and I’m joining in! Throughout March, I’m going to be making mini-zines – one for every week!

mini-zine-march

This week, I made a different type of zine.

I am by no means an artist. I am really not very good at art at all. But I wanted to make an arty zine. Thus: Doodles in Biro.

I’ve found that I do draw better when it is in biro ink, so I thought I would use biro (I used a PaperMate black pen, if you were wondering, which is my favourite type of pen). The zine took a lot longer to make than I thought it would, because one of the big let downs of regular biro is that you can’t rub it out if you make a mistake. *sigh*

The zine, as a whole, took maybe 2 – 3 hours to make. I used about three sheets of paper in all, too. Firstly, I thought that I could make the complete zine on one piece of paper, but that quickly became apparent not to be possible. My first “draft”, as it were, contained images I really liked, and ones that I hated. So… I cut them out.

The second piece of paper was left completely blank (aside from me writing “cover” and “back” onto it, so I knew which was which!). This provided the “backing” of the zine as it is now. I used the third piece of paper for the extra designs (I needed three new drawings, plus a back and a cover. The cover took three tries!).

Sticking on the designs obviously made the paper a lot thicker, which I actually really liked; I am thinking that, in the future I might (perhaps) print onto card or thicker paper, but zines are meant to be little thin pamphlets so I probably won’t.

This zine was a really new “thing” for me to try. I’m not a brilliant artist, so it isn’t the best in the world, but I’m happy with it (aside from the frickin’ title page WHICH SMUDGED).

I’m not as happy with this one as I was with #1, but all of this is an experiment and not all experiments work! I’m still glad I made it. 🙂


So, I’ve been chatting to a friend, and I’m thinking I might make these zines available to buy, in a pack of four (to cut down on cost & shipping, and also because they are kind of a “set”!). Would anybody be interested in that? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Mini Zine March 2017 | #2: Doodles in Biro

  1. Looking good. 🙂 Don’t worry about what you think your zine ‘should’ be – follow your bliss! Zines can be any shape or size (I have one that’s about the size of the pad of my thumb) and can be made out of any paper (I’ve seen one on tissue paper!).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

