2017

February Reading Wrap-Up & Haul | 2017

My reading month this February wasn’t as good as January’s, but I still read a lot and I got to two of my most anticipated: Saga volume 2 and 3 which I’ve been wanting to read for AGES!

Wrap-Up

  1. The Wicked and the Divine #2 by Kieron Gillan and Jamie McKelvie 
  2. The Wicked and the Divine #3 by Kieron Gillan and Jamie McKelvie
    I’m going to write about these two together! I definitely enjoyed these more than #1 – I wasn’t actually sure about carrying on with the series. However, I really loved volumes 2 and 3 and would love to carry on afterwards as well.
  3. The Fox & the Star by Coralie Bickford-Smith
    This is SUCH a beautiful little graphic novel. The designs are exquisite and it’s even cloth-bound! The story is delightful and so, so cute. I’d really recommend this little graphic novel.
  4. The Vicar of Wakefield by Oliver Goldsmith 
    I think the less said about this book, the better… Basically: it is not the definition of a realism novel… Anyway. That’s this book over and done with.
  5. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriager
    This is a MG novel, and was absolutely brilliant. The characters had very weird names, but they were still fascinating. I really enjoy steampunk although I don’t read a lot of it. I’d love to read Carriager’s Parasol series, too. Scott was the best character of all, obviously. ;P
  6. Lolly Willowes by Sylvia Townsend
    Another university book! I’m kind of in the middle of this one about whether I actually liked it or not, but I would still definitely recommend it; diverse magical realism!
  7. Paper Girls #1 by Brian K Vaughan 
    I feel like I needed the next volume of this one already, because it ended a bit abruptly. However, I’m super intrigued as to what’s happening and want to read more!
  8. The Lonely Londoners by Sam Selvon 
    University book #3. Written in a vernacular (kind of like a written accent), it’s a really interesting and relevant book about immigrants to London in the 1950s.
  9. The Infernal Devices graphic novel: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare and Hye-Kyung Baek
    I was kind of disappointed in this graphic novel. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be, so if you want to read the series definitely read the actual novels instead of just the graphic novels.
  10. Saga #2 by Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  11. Saga #3 by Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples 
    I’m going to put these two together too, and basically just say: Saga is BRILLIANT and you should definitely go and read it RIGHT NOW! I absolutely LOVE this graphic novel series.
  12. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 
    My book club‘s book of the month! I really enjoyed this book, especially the ending. I feel like it’s a book everyone should read (and if you don’t want to, read it just to say you’ve read it :P)
  13. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig 
    I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH! It was filled with everything I wanted it to be and I absolutely loved the idea of it. I can’t wait to get my hands on book two, THE SHIP THROUGH TIME which came out a few days ago!
  14. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley 
    This is a really interesting graphic novel about Katie and her household spirit, Lis. This novel has such beautiful illustrations and is a really interesting read and yet kind of scary read. I really loved it, and would definitely recommend it!

Book Haul

BOUGHT:

  • Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
  • Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult
  • Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (received in Fairyloot!)
  • Life Class by Ludwig Bemelmans (received in Bookishly box!)
  • Metamorphosis and Other Stories by Franz Kafka
  • Strangers by Paul Finch (£1 mystery book for charity)
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
  • Who Let the Gods Out by Maz Evans
  • A Girl in Exile by Ismail Kaurae

GIVEN:

  • Night Film by Marisha Pessl (thank you to Emma @emmmabooks!)
  • The Snowman by Jo Nesbo (in a book exchange)

RECEIVED FOR REVIEW:

  • Displaced by Stephen Abarbanell
  • The Ninth Rain by Jen Williams
  • The Owl at the Window by Carl Gorham
  • A Most Misleading Habit by Dandy Gilver
  • The State of Grace by Rachael Lucas (EEEEK!)

I bought way too many books this month, so I really have to cut down on that in February! Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? 🙂

Leave a Reply

