Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I Loved More/Less Than I Thought I Would

tumblr_nabfmeiuts1rstq9ro1_250This was meant to go up yesterday but I had a cracking headache so hello, it’s once again Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, there’s a challenge to list ten books relating to a corresponding theme.

I’ve chosen (like I would imagine a lot of people have) to do two lists: 5 books of books I loved more than expected, and 5 books I hated more than expected (and one I truly despised). Please don’t be offended by the latter list!

Also, these books are from this year/late last year!

Loved

  1. Moonstone by Sjon
    Now this. THIS BOOK. This is already one of my favourites of the year. I didn’t expect it to, especially as one of my friends didn’t really like it, but I aboslutely loved it. Gah.
  2. Saga by Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples
    I thought I would like this graphic novel series, but I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. I had actual grabby hands when my friend (aforementioned friend, yes) let me borrow her, uh, borrowed copies.
  3. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
    I’d never read a Meyer novel before this book, and I really enjoyed Heartless. It’s not on my favourite book list (maybe of 2017, but not ever), but I feel like it does deserve a little spot here as it wasn’t an expected love.
  4. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
    I actually didn’t like this book as much as I hoped, but far more than I expected, and also I liked it more in aspects I didn’t think I would enjoy. If you understood that sentence: it’s on the list.
  5. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
    Three of my favourite books of the past year are this series. I LOVE IT SO SO MUCH. I recently read the graphic novel of Clockwork Angel but it was no where near as good as the book so guess who’s going to have to go back and reread that… Ah, the hard life of a bookworm. 😉

Hated

(Please don’t think that I hate these books (okay, so I maybe hate one). I just didn’t like them as much as I had hoped!)

  1. Trapped in Silver by Emily Sowden
    This was an ARC sent to me by Benjamin from OfTomes Publishing. I have literally never had a bad word about this book or any of their books, so I was actually really surprised when basically I didn’t like it. 😦
  2. The Lady in the Van by Alan Bennett
    I watched the film of this and decided to read the book because my mum had it. The film was hilarious and sad and brilliant, but the book… not so much. It was disjointed and I actually felt like I got more out of the film.
  3. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
    Now, I do like this series (although I have been half way through book 6 for over two months now and it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere fast) but it just hasn’t grabbed me like The Infernal Devices which is really sad. As I said, I do like it, and I like the Netflx series too, but it’s not on my blown-away list.
  4. The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti
    Another book everyone was raving about, but I just didn’t like. It didn’t deliver what I expected, if that sums up my feelings better. I thought it should have had a trigger warning, and actually said what the book was frickin’ about on the back.
  5. Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 
    Nope. Nopety nope. This book was a big, fat NOPE from me.

I hope you guys enjoyed reading! Feel free to link me to your TTT in the comments. Have you read any of the books I’ve listed here?

PS: Jamie @ BrokeandBookish is taking a hiatus for a couple weeks. There might be freebies which I might participate in, but other than that TTT is off for a couple more weeks! 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Loved More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Interesting stuff! It’s funny how our perceptions before going into a book can be totally different from what we get out of them, and also it was interesting how one author was on both lists. I haven’t read any of them, but thanks for the recommendations – obviously, I’m more inclined to check out the first list based on this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, “City of Bones” was actually a book that I enjoyed way more than expected but I don’t like how Cassandra “exploits” her universe and I was afraid that all the series and spin-offs would never come to an end so that I still haven’t managed to read a single sequel yet 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

