2017 · Bookishness

January Wrap-Up and Book Haul!

I used to do wrap-ups on my booktube channel, but now I really don’t want to and therefore I am going to do them on here instead. To the point, amirite?

I read a whole lotta books in January. 16, to be exact! That’s pretty damn impressive, considering I didn’t even pick up a book until the 2nd week of January. Let’s get onto my stack!

  1. The History Boys by Alan Bennett
    The first thing I read in 2017, and I really liked it! Alan Bennett is a new author to me, but I am really enjoying his work.
  2. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
    Whoa. What a book. The ending was SO INCREDIBLE I am almost still in shock! I feel privileged to be attending the same university as Boyne did.
  3. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
    Why it took me so long to pick up this book I do not know, because I really loved it. It was cutesy and romantic and dealt with family and friends and love and it was just awesome and I need book 2 ASAP.
  4. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
    Whilst this book isn’t the best quality literature in the world, and i already knew the ending, and there were some problems, this was really gripping and just plain enjoyable to read. Jest was one of the best book boyfriends I’ve read for a while! ❤
  5. The Midnight Star by Marie Lu
    This is the third in the Young Elites series and it was so good, especially that ending. Again, Magiano is one of the favourite book boyfriends! I loved the character development throughout the books, and thought this was a brilliant ending to the trilogy.
  6. Pere Goriot by Honore de Balzac
    This was the first book I read for university this year and it was… okay. I’m not too into social totality and realism (oops, considering that’s what I’m studying this semester) so it did drag in places but the ending! it was so good!
  7. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
    This was a really enjoyable book, and I especially loved all the science-y bits. I’m looking forward to book 2. My review will be up soon on sprinkledwithwords!
  8. Asking for It by Louise O’Neill
    The first book for my 12/12 book club! This wasn’t a particularly enjoyable book, and there were certainly bits I thought dragged on or I didn’t like, but I feel like the topic was an important one to read.
  9. The Garden Party and Other Stories by Katherine Mansfield
    This is the second book I’ve read for uni so far! I really liked most of these stories (not all, not all) and again, the endings were abrupt and left you answering your own questions about how they ended. I loved the endings.
  10. A Reading Diary by Alberto Manguel
    A really interesting book, and it has very much inspired me to look forward to rereading books I’ve loved. Not always the most interesting, but Manguel speaks in quotations which was a novelty.
  11. Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was by Sjon
    GUYS. This book is a newbie on my Top Ten Favourite Books (I know! Big claim!) because it is so good and I loved it SO MUCH. I have a book review to be posted on sprinkledwithwords on Monday. PLEASE check it out!
  12. The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
    The first in the Series of Unfortunate Events series, this was actually a reread for me, but I’m definitely glad I reread it as I basically didn’t remember anything. I’m reading the series for the first time to watch the Netflix series, but I’d already read this one once!
  13. Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner
    A psychological thriller, this book was entirely gripping but I did find myself getting a little scared reading it! not a good idea to read it at night, I think. The multiple POVs, whilst distracting, were clever and kept you wanting to keep reading to find out about the characters. My review/blog tour post will be up on Tuesday on my other blog
  14. Pottermore Presents by JK Rowling
    There are actually 3 mini novellas in this series: Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies; Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics, and Pesky Poltergeists; and Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide. (Can I have a complete guide, please, JKR?) I loved, of course, dipping back into the magical world. My only wish is that they had been longer and covered many more characters.

And there you have my January wrap-up! I’m going to do a mini, list-type book haul, too:

BOUGHT BY MYSELF:

  • Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
  • Asking for It by Louise O’Neill
  • The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace
  • The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare et al.
  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

GIVEN:

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (thanks mum!)
  • The Chimes by Anna Smaill (thanks Natalie!)
  • Hot Feminist by Polly Vernon (thanks Natalie!)

RECEIVED FOR REVIEW:

  • Strange Medicine by Mike Russell
  • Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner
  • Moonstone by Sjon

I’ve already read 4 of the books here and I am hoping to get to more in February!

So there you (fully) have it: my January wrap-up and haul. You can head to my other blog and Goodreads, where I post my reviews.

What did you read/receive in January? Have you read/do you recommend any books here? Let me know in the comments below! 

2 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up and Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

