Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Underrated Books Of The Past Year or So

Hello! Today is Tuesday, so that means… TOP TEN TUESDAY!

This is a feature hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Underrated Books Of the Past Year (Or So). So, here’s mine!

  1. saffoSappho by Mary Barnard
    Sappho was an incredible (FEMALE!) Greek poet, and her writings are absolutely beautiful. The translation I read was by Mary Barnard, and I really really enjoyed it (and it was printed beautifully too; I’m going to scour to try and get my own copy, as I borrowed it from the library). I’m going to be doing a post on Sappho in the future because her poetry is great.
  2. Tinder by Sally Gardner
    Tinder is one of the scariest books I have ever read. Well, creepiest. Oh my gosh. It is so creepy but SO GOOD and I can’t believe more people haven’t talked about this?! I literally had to stay up to read this because I was too scared to sleep without knowing what happened.
  3. Popular: Vintage Wisdom for the Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen
    I read this book late last year, but it was actually a reread. I also read it in one night. I cannot stress how much I love this book and how much I admire Maya!
  4. Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe
    I saw this book and picked it up because it was pretty, but it soon became a favourite. It’s a true story about Lucy and how she met her then-girlfriend (*sobs*). Anyway, it’s a great book, and she’s a big voice in the LGBT community on YouTube. I think? She’s on Twitter, anyway.
  5. Florence & Giles by John Harding 
    BLOOMIN HECK. This is one of the best thrillers I have read. It’s the right amount of creepy and thriller-y, and it’s wonderful – you should definitely read it. The sequel, THE GIRL WHO COULDN’T READ, is also very good but not as good!
  6. Book of Lies by Teri Terry
    I don’t really know if this is ‘underrated’, but I think that it’s a book that doesn’t get pumped up enough in the YA community, but IT WAS GREAT. SUCH a good thriller, and I really loved the ending.
  7. 517rszojdrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
    Proof of how much I love this book: I even bought it for my friend for her birthday (hiya there, Nicky). This. This is the type of book I want to write. It is just so brilliant, and I would definitely recommend it.
  8. Fairytale Retellings series by Jackson Pearce 
    Kinda cheating because it’s 4 books, but I read the first a few years ago and book 4 last year, but I recommend all of them. SISTERS RED remains my favourite out of all 4, but they are fantastic. I gave all of them a full 5 stars.
  9. Magnus Chase series by Rick Riordan 
    Again, I’m not sure if it’s underrated this series, but I do think that all Riordan books are a little underrated when it comes to big coporations. I WANT MY PERCY JACKSON MERCH, DAMMIT! *ahem* Anyway, Magnus Chase is SO DIVERSE it is absolutely fantastic, and you should DEFINITELY go and read it, esp. book 2.
  10. The Paper Magician by Charlie M Holmberg
    This one was actually a really good book. Oftentimes, I read a book and then forget what happened, but with this one? I can actually remember what happened! I really want to read the rest in the trilogy.

So there you have it! What books are on your list? Do you agree with any on mine? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Underrated Books Of The Past Year or So

Leave a Reply

