2017 · Me In General Really · Positivity & Happiness · Weight, Health and Fitness

Starting on a Weightloss Journey | Goals, Journal, and Numbers

Hey everybody! Today I’m going to be blogging about something new: a weight-loss journey.

I am not unhappy with my body by any means, but I’d like to be more comfortable in it. Although I have a weight-loss goal, losing fat and gaining muscle and tone are my biggest aims over all. I want to lose fat all over my body and be even happier in my own skin!

My Journal

I’m going to be using a notebook to chart my progress. On the first page that I have put my start weight and goal weight. There are some goals underneath of how to be healthier, a lot taken from the NHS website.

On the first page (and this is how subsequent pages are going to be shown, too), I have written the date, my weight, and I will record losses/gains (it’s 0 because this is day/week 1). I tend to do my weight in either stones and pounds, or kg, but I’ve also recorded lbs in case someone asks/I want to compare!

Then, we get to my measurements. I said earlier that I wasn’t as concerned with losing weight as with losing fat and gaining tone, so measurements are more important to me than the number on the scale. The measurements I am taking are (and these are all around the widest part): thigh, both of my upper arms, breasts, under boob, tummy, belly button, and calves – I’m measuring my right. My calves have always been huge and basically solid muscle, and I’m not looking to lose anything on them, I’m just curious to see if they will change.

Underneath this we have: “YouTube; Instagram; Blog”. I’m not sure if I’ll record on my blog every week, I might just do a monthly wrap-up, but you can click here to go to my Instagram where I will be recording everything in pictures & putting on inspirational quotes! I haven’t yet decided if I’m going to record my journey on YouTube but if I do it will be on this channel and you should totally subscribe anyway. 😉

Then we get to my epic chart. My fitness weeks start on Friday (mainly because I happened to weigh myself first on this day, but also if I drink it’ll probably be at the weekend!). I have 6 rows of ‘WATER’ (but I might change this to just 1 and do ticks; I’m still working out my journal and how best to record!), and I have to fill up all of them each day. Then we have rows of ‘strength’, ‘swimming’, and ‘walk’. ‘Walk’ should be filled up every day, but ‘swimming’ is three times a week and ‘strength’ four. Once I’ve got my timetable back at university, I’ll be putting in when I do what on the front, and I’ll cross them out on the chart. ‘Strength’ is apparently something like yoga which is meant to happen 2+ times a week. I’m going to be doing yoga at least twice, but hopefully all four – otherwise, I’ll swap another workout in for the other 2 workouts.

And then under that I’m going to try and record everything I’ve eaten. I don’t know if I can be bothered to do this for ages, but it might guilt trip me into eating better.

So there you have my journal that I’m going to be using, and how I’m going to be using it. Now… onto what I want to achieve.

Goals

  1. Drink at least 6 glasses of water, or fluids, per day.
  2. Swim at least 2 times a week, for 40 minutes – 1 hour per time (at least 1km).
    GOAL: swim 3 times a week! I say ‘at least 2’ just in case. 😉
  3. Do yoga at least 2 times a week for 30 minutes.
  4. Workout on the other 2 spare days for 30 minutes; either yoga or another activity.
  5. Go for a walk EVERY DAY, even if it is just down to the shops.
  6. Weigh myself & do measurements every Friday morning. Record this on Instagram (and possibly YouTube!).

Numbers (and some pics)

Firstly, I want you to know that me putting this online is really, really hard for me to do. Hopefully, when I do it next time, it will be easier because I will have lost some weight!

On the scales, weighed Friday 13th January 2017: 13st 11 1/2 lbs / 195.2lbs / 87.9kg

Goal: 11st / 154lbs / 70kg

Goal Loss: 2st 11 1/2lbs / 41.2lbs / 17.9kg

EEEK!

As you can see, that is quite a big (but not impossible!) amount of weight to lose. I think that 11st is a good weight for me to be, but I won’t worry if I don’t reach that amount – for the third time, I am more interested in the amount of fat I have on my body and my body’s measurements! Muscle, of course, weighs more than fat as well.

Measurements, all in inches:

  • Thigh: 25
  • Upper arm (left): 13
  • Upper arm (right): 13.5
  • Boobs: 43
  • Under boob: 35.5
  • Tummy: 39
  • Belly button: 38
  • Calves (R): 16.5

And now here are some ‘before’ pictures for you:

I’m not sure when ‘after’ will be, because I saw someone say once that a fitness journey never ends. I think that it’ll end either when I finish my journal, hit my goal weight, or I feel like I don’t have to worry about losing any more weight or inches.

I’m going to probably be recording on here every month – I feel like every week might be too much for a blog I’m hoping to put loads on! I might stick it in my monthly wrap-up, but we’ll see – either way, I will be keeping you bloglets updated. Check out my Insta for more frequent updates – hopefully I’ll put pics of other stuff I’ve been doing & food I’ve been eating too.

Thank you guys so much for reading this far – it’s been a pretty long blog post! If you’re taking on your own fitness journey, link me to your post/Insta/YouTube in the comments below, or just tell me! I’d love to meet people who are trying to do the same as I am.

(Also: I would just like to reiterate that I am pretty dang happy in/with my body. I do love it (mostly). I just think I could love it more and be happier. I want to be fitter in general, and thought I might as well do this along the way, because I’m interested in seeing how my body changes and hopefully progresses. If you want to lose weight yourself, I say go for it, but please make sure you do it in a healthy and safe way. Feel free to comment below of course, anytime and on any post.)

Hannah xox

4 thoughts on “Starting on a Weightloss Journey | Goals, Journal, and Numbers

  1. Ahh I’m so proud of you for putting this up! And good for you for doing something for yourself – that’s the only reason you should start this journey. If you need any help / advice / support you know where I am, I did it myself (not as much but still a stone!) so I know how brutal it can be, but also how rewarding it is❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done for sharing. I weighed a similar weight to you and had a similar target. Initially it seemed like I couldn’t lose any, but gradually, with perseverance, exercise and sensible eating, I lost 45lbs. Because I changed my habits I have managed to keep it off , apart from over Christmas where all my clothes felt a little snug!
    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

