2016 · Bookishness

End Of Year Book Survey | 2016

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738Hello! So you may have already seen my 2016: In Review post, but books are a huge part of my life and have been a huge part of 2016. It makes sense to do a bookish 2016 post, and when I saw Jamie’s post I was definitely eager to try it out! Credit goes entirely to Jamie @ Broke and Bookish, including the graphics which are lovely.

All of my stats here have been taken from my Goodreads. 🙂

2016 Reading Stats

Number of books I read: 151!

Number of re-reads: 2, but 3 if you count reading a graphic novel of a book I’ve read… except I don’t think it does xD

Genre you read most from: YA? I would imagine YA. Probably fantasy YA, or maybe Middle Grade. 🙂

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

I honestly can’t decide to be honest, but I think I’m going to have to say Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. Not only was this a FANTASTIC book but it is, personally, a really inspiring book; it’s the type of literature I want to write someday. But I am also going to direct you guys to my 2016 favourites Goodreads bookshelf!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I’M SORRY! I just wasn’t as blown away by it as I thought I would be.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo, and The Young Elites by Marie Lu (yeah sorry breaking the rules on Question 3). Surprising because I thought, “Oh, I’ll read these because the hype is big. Can’t be as good as people say.” WHOA! I haven’t yet finished Lu’s trilogy, but they are two of my favourites.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Hmm… I’m not really sure about this one, because I’m not really sure if people pick up the books I recommend! I still recommend Rick Riordan to everyone though. 😀

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

SERIES: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. This series is so gripping!
SEQUEL: Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevens (’cause I can’t say ACOMAF if I’ve just put ACOTAR!). This is SUCH A GOOD SERIES GO AND READ RIGHT NOW.
ENDER: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. Excuse me whilst I go cry. Again.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Cassandra Clare. I hadn’t read any of her books and now I’m part way through the 9th book of hers this year! Like, 5% of my READ this year has been CC.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Florence & Giles by John Harding. This is such a thrilling, creepy book and DEFINITELY out of my comfort zone!

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Perhaps The Rose Society or The Young Elites by Marie Lu? I just remember being so anxious the. whole. time.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig and Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Probably Burial Rites and The Miniaturist.

517rszojdrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

51fkv1bylul-_sx326_bo1204203200_

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Jem Carstairs, probably, from The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Once again, The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Probably Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur or Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, or just all of her books in general. WHY.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“One must always be careful of books and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” – Tessa Gray, The Infernal Devices

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

 

SHORTEST: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald (42 pages)
LONGEST: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas (645 pages)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Tinder by Sally Gardner! I was gripped and had to read this in one go.

 

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

 

*SPOILERS FOR SIMON vs. THE HOMOSAPIENS AGENDA*

Simon & Bram because how cute! ❤

And also Tessa & Jem from The Infernal Devices. 

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Nella & Johannes from The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton!

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

EVERYTHING BY RICK RIORDAN.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Timeriders by Alex Scarrow.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

JEM CARSTAIRS JEM CARSTAIRS JEM CARSTAIRS

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Um… not sure for this one. I don’t actually know what debuted in 2016! I read a lot of debut books, but not 2016 releases.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Septys. The ice scene is something that just popped into my mind right now.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan ❤

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

X-Men: Magneto’s Testament and The Complete Maus.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

CLOCKWORK PRINCESS BY CASSANDRA CLARE.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Sappho by, uh, Sappho, translated by Mary Barnard. You guys should definitely read Sappho’s poetry, but I would probably say it was the most unique book I read this year.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Mad? Ahaha I was all ready mad… *evil grin* Seriously though, I don’t really know, although some of the books I have read this year have been surrounded by controversy… after I’ve read them!

Blogging/Bookish Life

*a lot of these posts are from my other blog, Sprinkled With Words! 🙂

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I don’t really know, actually. I think a mission of mine next year is to connect more with other bloggers! I still love Paper Fury and The Writing Hufflepuff, though.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

I really liked my review of One! I actually didn’t do that many reviews this year. Oops.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I think probably my discussion on audiobooks. this generated a lot of discussion on Twitter too, and I’m still testing out audiobooks now!

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I think seeing Ian McEwan was pretty cool, and also Natasha Pulley (especially as I got to meet her!). I would love to go to YALC next year.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Just blogging. After coming back from a hiatus where I hadn’t been able to write, and even writing now… just blogging. It’s the best feeling. *cue ‘AWWW’ from the audience. Hint hint*

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

My hiatus that I took over the exam period, and then struggling over the past couple months. I am so grateful for all of my wonderful followers sticking around ❤ I’m so excited to get back into blogging.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I am going to choose my other blog to do this, because the post on this blog isn’t one that I want to think back on. I’m still confused as to why these posts come up a lot but my most popular post from Sprinkled With Words was “How to Write Fanfiction – Plot“, a post I wrote over a couple years ago! I might go back and write more posts about fanfiction as they’re so popular! My homepage had a whopping 847 views though!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Review-Tainted Reading. I think it’s something book reviews should consider more!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

AbeBooks! It’s saved my uni wallet! And also a bookstore in Norwich which has cheap comics and classics. Big heart.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Well, I read all 60 (ehehe… kinda over doubled that!) of the books on my Goodreads TBR, but I didn’t complete all of my challenges. Ah well. xD

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu! Also books 4-7 (reread) of the Harry Potter series. And the last of The Selection series. Basically, a lot!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

ALL THE RICK RIORDAN.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Now I’ve done some frantic Googling and here’s one I think looks good! Caraval by Stephanie Garber. This is actually on my TBR already, but I’m not super hyped yet.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I would love to go to some more bookish events and read more classics! Yay books.

Thank you guys if you read this far! I hope you enjoyed this post! See y’all in the comments (ehehe), and see y’all in 2017. Have a good one!

2 thoughts on “End Of Year Book Survey | 2016

Leave a Reply

