2016 · Previously In My Life...

Wrap Up: October 2016

Wow. I’m exhausted. It might be because I’ve just done my October wrap-up booktube video… no, that is the reason. Oh, and I was up until 3am last night, that might have something to do with it too. Welcome to my month!

monthly-wrap-up-oct-2016

mwu adventures I've had

This month has been a lot of university work. I’ve had my first two essays (which I didn’t fail on), and a bunch of other stuff. I went to see one of my favourite bands, Skinny Lister, at the Waterfront in Norwich. I saw Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street speak at Waterstones which was really awesome! And I’ve just been exploring and settling in to my new place a little bit more.

mwu books i've read

I read a surprising amount this month, so I’m just going to list them (in no particular order, although each category is in order of read date).

Books (12)

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas; Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn; The Go-Between by LP Hartley; Fates & Traitors by Jennifer Chiaverini; Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo; Tinder by Sally Gardner; The Graces by Laure Eve; City of Bones by Cassandra Clare; Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell; The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen; The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater; The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

Short stories (2)

The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson; The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Plays (1)

Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett

Poetry collections (2)

Sappho: translation by Mary Barnard; Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Comics (8)

Saga vol. 1; Batgirl: Kicking Assassins; Batgirl: Death Wish; X-Men Magneto’s Testament; The Wicked and the Divine vol. 1; Doctor Who: The Chains of Olympus; Sex Criminals vol. 1; Sex Criminals vol. 2

Phew! That’s 25 items overall.

mwu stuff i wrote

This month, I wrote a few short stories which I actually posted on the blog! I also wrote a whole bunch of poems (I’m in the middle of one at the moment) and a couple of character profiles in preparation for NaNoWriMo! 😀

Oh: and I got published in Conrete, UEA’s student magazine! I had an article about Class, the new Doctor Who spinoff, published in Venue, the arts side magazine enclosed in the newspaper.

mwu looking ahead

November is, of course, for one thing: NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo starts today (although I won’t start writing until later tonight probably – I’m exhausted because I’ve been writing blog posts all afternoon!) and I can’t wait!

I’m also going to Nottingham and Leicester to see Will Varley and my lovely boyfriend, and we’re staying in a hotel which is always a bonus novelty. And of course, it’s fireworks night. Boom.

giphy

How was your month? Did you get up to anything exciting? What’ve you got to look forward to?

Leave a Reply

