Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Autumn Reads

Hello everyone! This week’s prompt from The Broke and The Bookish is top ten scary reads. I don’t really read scary books though, so I’m doing top ten Autumn reads!

tumblr_odwur1mwih1sbitwxo1_500

Autumn and Spring are my two favourite seasons. I love the crispiness of the air, the changing colours, the fact I can snuggle up. It’s so beautiful, and so lovely, and just gah. Autumn.

Because we’re just getting into Autumn, I’m going to do this TTT a little differently. I’ll do 5 books I have read and recommend, and then 5 books I want to get around to myself because I feel they’re Autumnal. Feel free to take all 10 as jolly good recs, though. 🙂

5 Autumn Reads I Recommend

  1. The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle
    The Accident Season is beautiful and scary and very much autumnly, so I would definitely recommend it for this time of year. I need to reread this book as much as you either need to read it for the first time or reread it also! For Cara, the accident season has always been there at the end of October, a month where her family have continually accidents. Knives are banished, sharp corners covered up. But why is her family cursed? And can the curse be broken?
    9780552571302
  2. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
    The first in a trilogy, this isn’t particularly autumnly, but it’s a book that you’ll want to read tucked up with a hot chocolate and a blanket whilst you can glance up and see the leaves fall from the trees outside. Kelsea is a girl taken from her home in the woods to become Queen of the Tearling. But her life is in danger every single moment.
    51g3wlbgfol-_sy291_bo1204203200_ql40_
  3. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
    I will sing the praises of this trilogy for ages. These books are creepy and lovely and basically go shove your head in a library and take them home with you. K. Thx. Tessa has been sent from America to the UK, but when she arrives she is kidnapped. She discovers she has a power – she can shapeshift into other people. The world of the Shadowhunters opens up to Tessa in a Victorian London society.
    infernal-devices-covers1
  4. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
    BURIAL RITES is the story of the last woman to be executed in Iceland. Taken on a journey and forced to live with a family who don’t want her, Agnes is just counting down her last days until the execution. This is such a beautiful and sad book and again is definitely for autumn. I guess it’s probably more suited to late November, though.
    517rszojdrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
  5. Florence and Giles by John Harding
    I can totally do creepy and this is one of the creepiest books you’re gonna get. After their first governess dies violently, Florence is convinced her new governess is a malevolent spirit out to kill her and kidnap her little brother, Giles. And she will stop at nothing to make sure that doesn’t happen. This book is so, so creepy, and you guys should definitely go and read it.
    51ht6sriaal-_sx316_bo1204203200_

And now… 5 Autumn Reads I Want to Read This Year

  1. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Steifvater
    OKay so this might not be typically autumnal, but I still want to read this book anyway. Besides, if you’re with a horse I always think you should have cold hands and a warm heart. ❤
    scorpio
  2. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
    A story of WWI, this book is apparently heartbreaking and beautiful. I would really like to read it this year. I borrowed the book from a telephone box library where my lovely boyfriend lives in Andover, UK, so I would like to read it and return it at Christmas for someone else to pick up in the future.
    article-2091868-0012ff5e00000258-914_306x463
  3. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin
    This is a What If? fictional history book. What if Hitler had won the war? is the question asked. I got this book as a ‘well done’ present for my A Levels and I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet! The sequel has recently come out, too. I feel like this book will be kinda badass.
    25907472-_uy200_
  4. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
    This is a book that’s been on my TBR for quite a while, and I brought it to university with me. It’s the type of book that inspires the image of a reader curled up in bed with a steaming mug and a book in one hand, the sky dark outside and their heads full of wonder.
    518a0cq6vvl
  5. Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo 
    These two are the final books in the Grisha trilogy. I read Shadow and Bone in a day, so of course I want to read these two as quick as possible. It’s a fantasy story that everyone’s talking about so hahaha give it to me now. (Please.)
    grisha-trilogy-covers

So there you have my top ten Tuesday (once again on a Wednesday. Oh, shush). My next read is actually The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, so hey, I’m already getting to my Autumn TBR! What’s on your list?

Catch you later!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-1188-1380798325-7

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Autumn Reads

Leave a Reply

