Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Characters I’d Name a Pet (or Child) After <3

IT’S ANOTHER BELATED TOP TEN TUESDAY!! (The meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish if ya didn’t know! <3) This week it is top ten characters I’d name a pet after. Or child. But, to be honest, I probably wouldn’t name my kids after a fictional character. I might give them the name of a fictional character, but I think names are very important and shape who you are, so I’d be careful about naming my own kids. I feel like animals already have a mind of their own, and they probably have two names: their animal name and human name. I’m not being crazy, but to be honest have you ever heard your cat/dog/horse/goldfish say to a stranger, “Yo! I’m Blueberry Pickle, nice to meet you!” No, and if they’re a cat they probably don’t care anyway.

THEREFORE, I bring you the Top Ten Names I Would Name My Pets! I’ve also put pictures of the type of animal I would call them. If that makes sense. English is hard. 😦

  1. Tessa (From The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare)
    Tessa is such a lovely name. I could definitely see a gorgeous tortoiseshell cat being called Tessa. We did once live with a very grumpy tortoiseshell cat called Tasha, so maybe that’s why I like this name for this type of animal. ❤ hqdefault
  2. Thalia (from the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan)
    I’ve loved the name Thalia since I first read it. It was actually in the most recent book I read too, The Graces by Laure Eve. I think this name is suited to a black cat who takes nothing from no one and yet is very adorable and cuddly to those she loves (but, of course, doesn’t show this to anyone else). She’d be the cat the postman is scared of. blackcat-lilith
  3. Hermione (from the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling)
    How could I do this list and not put Hermione on?! Hermione is such a lovely name, and probably one of a few I would actually name a child of mine. Hermione is obviously suited to a gorgeous, fluffy, brown cat who knows when it’s dinner time and silently judges you from across the room. fluffy-brown-cat-wallpaper
  4. Malory (from the Chestnut Hill series by Lauren Brooke)
    I devoured this books as a youngster, and Malory was always my favourite character. I wouldn’t name a child Malory, but I could imagine myself naming a sleek brown cat Malory. It also reminds me of Malory Towers by Enid Blyton, although the main character in this is called Darrell Rivers. Anyway. Yes. Havanna brown siamese in the garden
  5. Jem (from The Infernal Devices byCassandra Clare)
    I still can’t think or read the name “Jem” without screaming “JEM” and holding my hands to my chest whilst crying. I am actually tearing up writing this, jeesh. I think Jem would be a gorgeous name for a white or black and white cat, but in this case I am going to pick a spotted horse. 🙂 729a77b7699b1cd0424e67bdde83de1a
  6. Alina (from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo)
    I have only read the first book, Shadow and Bone, so no spoilers please, but this is such a lovely name. I might call one of my children (or characters, aka fictional children) this name (maybe even in my next novel… hmm.) but I think that this perfectly fits a sleek black and white cat who will happily groom herself, play with you, and then claw you and look only slightly sorry for it afterwards. 1113667401-m
  7. Aelin (from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas)
    Aelin is just such a lovely name. (A lot of these names sound the same, I have noticed. I seem to subconsciously have a name theme.) I think Aelin is the perfect name for a silver tabby cat. Preferably with a sassy personality, who looks up at you when you give them the cheap supermarket cat food like, “You’re giving me this? DO YOU KNOW WHO I AM?!” Silver tabby cat, Asphodel, 2 years old
  8. Remus/Sirius (from Harry Potter by JK Rowling)
    WELL OF COURSE I AM GOING TO PUT THESE BEAUTIES IN. (And yes, they totally count as one. Duh.)
    AND WHO ARE THESE GORGEOUS NAMES GOING TO BE FOR, YOU ASK?
    b25fc55f1c787584b2d3213fde685b41
    Gorgeous labs, of course! Sirius is obviously black, and Remus chocolate. And, oh, since you asked so nicely I shall show you them with James too…
    yellow-black-and-chocolate-labrador-retrieversRecording their new album, of course.
    (And hey, I even found them with Peter!)
    hear-all
    (Don’t even try and deny this is true.)
    Ahem. Back to the list.

  9. Rhysand 
    (from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas)
    Rhysand is actually a lovely name, although I had been pronouncing it “Rice-sand” (and, subsequently, “Rice”) throughout the whole book until, after I finished, I looked up a pronunciation guide and found I had it wrong. Thankfully, a lot of my English friends had done the same thing… Anyhoo. Rhysand would be a great name for a Staffy, I think. Sadly, everyone thinks they’re evil, and although they’re very protective, they are also very loving and give great cuddles.

    best-beds-for-staffies
    SO CUTE
  10. Silas (from Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce)
    Sisters Red will always remain one of my favourite books, and all of the characters have a place in my heart, but Silas is definitely the name for a gorgeous Husky. Of course. I mean, Sisters Red is about fenris (kind of like werewolves) anyway, so it’s really fitting too! I know Silas is for a grey dog, so it was a toss up between a Husky and another Staffy, but I think a Husky more fits the character, and a Staffy the name. Thoughts, if you’ve read the book? siberian_husky_015

So there you have it. This has been such a fun post to write! Feel free to link me to your TTT in the comments, and I’ll see y’all next time!

PS YOU WANT ANOTHER LABRADOR PICTURE?! SURE YOU DO!

659b1c230723929c4a8c12bdca2cfa1c
Can’t stop laughing, help. 
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I’d Name a Pet (or Child) After <3

Leave a Reply

