Films · Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I’d Like To See as TV Shows!

ttt-books-movies-tvThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) post is essentially a TV freebie inspired by fall TV (do we get that in England? Idk). I would love any/all of the books listed below to be turned into (good, accurate to the book) TV programs!

  1. Sisters Red, Sweetly, Fathomless and Cold Spell by Jackson Pearce
    These four are fairytale retellings – Red Riding Hood, Hansel and Gretel, The Little Mermaid and The Snow Queen respectively. And they are one of my favourite series. I would love to see these as a TV show! Maybe a book per series or something like that? Wicked.
  2. The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare
    Well, The Mortal Instruments has their own TV show (called Shadowhunters for some reason) so I think TID should get its own too! Just imagine the steampunk.
  3. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan
    Okay so I know the first two were done as movies… not very goodly. I would love to see this book series as a TV series. Maybe a companion series in Heroes of Olympus…?
  4. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
    Again, this is already a great film series, but it missed out/changed a lot from the books (“calmly”)! So I would like to see it in a brilliantly long TV series that could rival th elikes of Doctor Who and Supernatural (let’s be honest, it already does, but you get the gist).
  5. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
    Believe me, I’m not talking about the 50. Between Shades of Gray is a beautiful, heartbreaking WWII story. I think it would be fantastic as a mini-series. Lots of tears. (Or a movie, actually. WHICH IT IS GOING TO BE *CUE FANGIRL SCREAMS*) (although they’re changing the name… but I think you can see why)
  6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    This would be a great little series, and I think it would fit in wonderfully with the whole fall TV thing! I think if this was made, having Cath doing a sarcastic voice over would be wonderful.
  7. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
    This is a little different as it’s non-fiction, but I think a documentary about Matt and depression and his books would be fantastic and I would definitely watch it. Even a YouTube mini series would be amazing.
  8. Michael Morpurgo Series
    This one is slightly different to the others on this list. Michael Morpurgo is an incredible children’s author. I think his books would be incredible as 20 minute – half an hour shorts, perhaps animated! I would absolutely love to watch them and it would just be incredible.
  9. The Selection series by Kiera Cass
    This is a book series which is essentially The Hunger Games but with marriage and less death. This would be a great TV series! Imagine the pretty dresses! :O
  10. A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery
    This is a book I come back to a lot. It’s set in 2003 in the Middle East when the war first started, and Lina is the main character. This would be so informative and really pushing in the current times, especially with everything that is going on nowadays. I’d love to see it.

There you have it – here are some books/series I would love to see on the TV screen! Let me know if you agree/disagree, or any you think that should be added.

Now I’m going to go and be all sad that none of these are real.

54a78add788db_-_crying

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Like To See as TV Shows!

Leave a Reply

