Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: books I’d make my primary school kids read

ttt;required readingNow when I say “make” I’m not an evil dragonlord who forces people to read (much, anyway). But these are definitely books that I would either give kids to read or read to them if I were a primary school teacher.

  1. The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo. This is such a wonderful book (and short too so great for young kids!) and I’d read it like every term if they asked for it…
  2. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell. History and animals and learning the lovely hardships of life. Seriously though, this is a novel that is both sad and hopeful and it’s a beautiful children’s story.
  3. Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson. This is a book that is hopeful and wonderful and magical and should be required reading. One of my favourite books.
  4. Peter Pan by JM Barrie. Obviously a magical book! Every child needs to know this story. ❤
  5. Matilda by Roald Dahl. Every little bullied girl (and boy) should know that no  matter what the other people say, they are special and they matter to the people who matter.
  6. Malory Towers series by Enid Blyton. A wonderful book series about a 192/30s boarding school, and it definitely started me on my reading journey so maybe it could spark off someone else!
  7. Once by Morris Gleitzman. This is about a young Jewish boy in Nazi Germany. It might be upsetting for some – it was for me – but I think it’s a very important book for a child to read.
  8. Harry Potter by JK Rowling. Well, duh. This was obviously going to be on here!
  9. A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery. This is about Lina and the bombs in 2003. It’s a beautiful story and tragic too, and although this is over a decade ago it may have happened in the intended audience’s lifetimes, so it should definitely be read.
  10. Horrid Henry by Francesca Simon. If you aren’t from the UK, it’s unlikely that you will have heard of this book series, but it was a staple for many young children and I think it still should be!

Many of these books are recommended for 6 – 11 year olds, but I would say you could still read them now! Soooooooooo go do it!

giphy

Leave a Reply

