Bookishness · Challenges

#ReadThemAllThon TBR

readthemallthon.jpg#ReadThemAllThon is an epic Pokemon-based readathon hosted by the wonderful Aentee. (click there to go to sign up!) The aim of the, er, game, is to read 8 books matching up to the challenges (which correlate to the 8 Indigo league gyms) over the course of three weeks. The readathon starts on the 14th August and ends on the 4th September.

Each reader in this readathon gets a Pokemon which they can gain CP for and evolve. The CP correlates to the number of books you read, what you Tweet, books you review etc. Just go to the sign up page to see everything! 

Although I love Eevee, I feel like Ponyta is the Pokemon I’m identifying with at the moment (seeing as my next bookish heroine is half-horse and a fiery character). Ponyta and I will be accompanying each other through three weeks, 8 books and hopefully (starting to, at least) writing another novel!

TRAINER CARD.jpg
(Sorry it’s a bit blurry. Not quite sure what happened but whatever it was it clearly wasn’t good.)

I’m going to be doing the CP thing as well, and I’ll be adding up all of my CP at the end of the readathon (so make sure you check my wrap-up post if you’re a curious type!). However, under each of the books I have below, you’ll be able to see the potential CP I can get from reading (and finishing!) them! [If you were wondering – it’s 1 CP per 10 pages read and 20 CP for finishing a book.]

UPDATE: The gorgeous Aentee, aka the organiser of this event, made me a gorgeous trainer card too! 😀 [Thank you so so much if you ever read this! <3]

aentee made for me!

Books I’m reading

The readathon is 3 weeks long, so you might think I’m being ambitious (and I am) but I also think I may be a little bit achievable with some of what I’ve picked!

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This one has been on my TBR for ages and I’ve actually owned the first three books for ages too. My goal is to read all four out at the moment (I’m excluding The Assassin’s Blade for the moment) before Empire of Storms comes out on September 6th!

404 pages. Potential 40 CP + 20 CP [for finishing] = 60 CP

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare 

The final in The Infernal Devices series, which I’ve tackled this summer. Why will this book make me cry? BECAUSE IT’S THE FINAL IN THE TRILOGY DAMMIT. I AM NOT READY TO SAY GOODBYE TO THESE BEAUTIFUL CHARACTERS. *cries already*

567 pages. Potential 56 CP + 20 CP = 76 CP

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern

I am actually buddy reading this beauty with my friend @bookmarvel (I, uh, do know her name but because it’s not on the internets I didn’t know if I could say it :P). Anyway, this book was everywhere last year, so I can use it for this challenge, I think! This is the only book on this list I’ll be reading in eBook form.

401 pages. Potential 40 CP + 20 CP = 60 CP

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell 

This is fiction of a fiction, but I’m pretty sure it counts as a diverse read. I read Fangirl last week (or maybe the week before?) and want to read this one next! I’m interested to see what happens, because it must’ve been quite a feat to write, seeing as Rowell was writing as Cath throughout the whole thing… Also dya like the whole Rainbow Rowell/Rainbow Badge thing? ;D

522 pages. Potential 52 CP + 2o CP = 72 CP
readthemallthon-badge05-soul

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

So I bought this one last year in America, and I just kind of felt like reading it. It’s the shortest one of this readathon so should be some “light relief” (pahahahaha I think I’ll probably cry reading it tbh). Apparently it’s got a YA romance in so I think it counts for this challenge! (And it’s an oversize book! Well, all American books are oversize to me but it’s the only oversize finished book (I have two ARCs) I have so it’s a novelty for me okay?)

306 pages. Potential 30 CP + 20 CP = 50 CP
readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

The third in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas! Definitely a fantasy (hopefully not supernatural/too supernatural, as I don’t like that type of book!). If you’re wondering where the second book has gotten to…

562 pages. Potential 56 CP + 20 CP = 76 CP

readthemallthon-badge07-flame

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

…it’s here! Yeah, annoyingly I had to put these out of order on the list (I guess I could’ve changed the badges over but ah well. It’s done now) but COM is my book for “a red cover”! Technically it’s probably classed as white and red but I think that at least 50% of the front cover is red so I’m counting it. Fight me.

418 pages. Potential 41 CP + 20 CP = 61 CP

readthemallthon-badge08-earth

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

So… The Host has been on my bookshelf probably for about 4 or 5 years now? And I feel like I should read it. I picked this copy up in a charity shop so to be honest it’s not a big loss if I don’t like it. I’m going to take a wild punt and think that I’ll think it’s mediocre so we’ll see! A Goodreads list told me this was post-apocalyptic – I hope it’s right!

617 pages. Potential 61 CP + 20 CP = 81 CP

So overall…

My longest book is The Host whilst the shortest is The Probability of Miracles. I have 3797 pages to read (*GULP*!) in 22 days meaning I have to read at least 173 pages per day! Oh help me.

My potential CP overall, however, excluding any Tweets I make (which contributes between 2 and 5 CP per Tweet) equals…

  • WITHOUT REVIEWS AND EXCLUDING FINISHING POINTS = 376 CP
  • INCLUDING FINISHING POINTS = 536 CP (160 CP = 20 CP per finished book)
  • INCLUDING REVIEWS = 696 CP (160 CP = 20 CP per review)
  • PLUS EVOLUTION POINTS AT 150 CP = 746 CP potential overall, without Tweeting!

(Sorry, I like the numbers a lot for a student who took English.)

I am so excited for this readathon! Keep following me on Twitter to see my progress (I’ll be Tweeting!). Are you doing the readathon? Are you as excited as I am? 😀 Link me to your post in the comments!

6 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Leave a Reply

