Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND! Series I’d Like To Start

ttt; REWIND.jpgTop Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme run by The Broke and The Bookish! This week’s topic is REWIND, aka picking a past topic! I picked ‘Series I’d Like to Start but Haven’t Yet’. This ran on the 5th March 2013 (I got super excited and thought it was my birthday BUT NO AMERICAN DATES GAH). 

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.
    This is one of the most talked about series of the year, and as Empire of Storms (book 5, not including the prequel novellas) comes out in September, I figure I should get around to reading them! I actually bought the first three for £7.99 so they’re already on my shelf… Here we go!
    Feat: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms (coming soon)
  2. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.
    I’ve been hearing so much about The Raven Boys series. I’ve read Shiver but never any of these ones! They seem so hyped with (apparently) great characters, so I do want to pick them up eventually.
    Feat: The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, The Raven King
  3. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.
    Okay. So I’m currently on book numero 2 of the Infernal Devices series and can I just tell you now… I LOVE IT. So… of course I want to pick up TMI. The world of the Shadowhunters is so scary I’d never want to be in it, but it’s interesting nonetheless.
    Feat: City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, City of Heavenly Fire
  4. Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien.
    *ducks from the swipe of your fist* OKAY OKAY SO I HAVEN’T READ LORD OF THE RINGS I’M SORRY. I have read the Hobbit, but never this trilogy which is strange because the crack song ‘they’re taking the hobbits to Isengard‘ was my ringtone for two years. #sorrynotsorry I am intending to read this trilogy over the Christmas holidays this year!
    Feat: Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, Return of the King
  5. Gone by Michael Grant. 
    My boyfriend actually bought me the first book so I’d be forced to want to read it. I think if I hadn’t included it on this list, he would’ve had a hissy fit. Apparently this is a bit gruesome, but I’ll give it a shot!
    Feat: Gone, Hunger, Lies, Plague, Fear, Light
  6. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan. 
    WHAAAAAAAAAAAT?! A RIORDAN NOVEL I HAVEN’T READ?! Well, yes, there is, and a series at that. I actually own the first book in this trilogy about the Egyptian gods (in an alternate universe where the Greek ones don’t exist? No idea tbh) so I must rectify this non-having-read-ness immediately.
    Feat: The Red Pyramid, The Throne of Fire, The Serpent’s Shadow
  7. The Queen of Tearling by Erika Johansen
    Admittedly, I haven’t heard much about this but I’ve seen it around and it sounds right up my alley. Historical? Fantasy? Badass female characters? YES PLEASE. Anyway, it sounds super interesting and I hope to pick it up some point at uni.
    Feat: The Queen of Tearling, The Invasion of Tearling, The Fate of Tearling
  8. Starbound by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
    Aside from the cover being gloriously pretty and one of my favourite book bloggers rating this 5/5, I’ve had my eye on this series for a while. It just seemed interesting, I guess, when I first marked it as “to read” and since then the hype has carried me along with it. Maybe one to pick up in the future?
    Feat: These Broken Stars, (This Night So Dark), This Shattered World, Their Fractured Light
  9. Across the Universe by Beth Revis
    Another space book! This one intrigued me because spaceship and stuffs and pretty cover (I’m sorry, I’m slowly falling asleep at my laptop. I need bed but I need blog too). Also I’m signed up to Revis’ emailing list and I love her emails, so I figure I should probably read some of her books too.
    Feat: Across the Universe, A Million Suns, (As They Slip Away), Shades of Earth
  10. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 
    Okay so this one has been intriguing me for ages, mainly because folklore in a different culture! I want to read more like this, so here we are! And stories! Secrets! Love! Aka: YES.
    Feat: The Wrath and the Dawn, The Rose and the Dagger

If I had to pick one for luck, it would be The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson (Feat: The Kiss of Deception, The Heart of Betrayal, The Beauty of Darkness) because whilst it sounds cool, I’m not entirely convinced just by the Goodreads description. But hey-ho!

What did you guys think of my choices? Any I should pick up ASAP? What would you have picked? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND! Series I’d Like To Start

  1. The Raven Cycle is one of my favorite young adult series. I know a lot of people have conflicting opinions about them, but hope you enjoy! And also, I’ve never read Lord of the Rings either. 😛 I tried starting it twice a few years back, but never made it past chapter ten, after we meet Tom Bombadil. Don’t know what’s up with that, but I do want to try going back and try reading it again some time in the future.

    Great list! Some of these series are interesting and I’ve been eyeing them as well.

    Like

  2. I really liked the Across the Universe, Throne of Glass series and of course Lord of the Rings (proudly South African born author ☺). I have only read the 1st book in the Raven Boys but my favourite of her books are Lament and especially Ballad (2 book series). Best you read Gone soon and I hope you like it more than I did. I must be the only person who DNF the 1st book! My TTT

    Like

    1. I’m read Throne of Glass in the next readathon I’m doing (I literally just pressed “publish” on the post if you’re curious!) and I’ll read The Raven Cycle probably at uni! I do like the Egyptians but because I’ve studied Greek & Roman gods I think I’m more into them too 🙂
      I’ll make sure to check out your TTT!

      Like

Leave a Reply

