nanowrimo

I Failed at Camp NaNoWriMo and I’m Okay With It

fail @ camp 2016.jpgToday, I have admitted that I am not going to finish the 20000 words I had targeted for Camp NaNoWriMo. I’m not saying that I’m “admitting defeat” though – NaNoWriMo hasn’t beaten me, my novel and my world just weren’t ready for it yet! 

Through Camp NaNo though, I have learnt a lot more about my characters and the world they live in, but writing as much as I wanted to be was just way too much for what I should be writing. At this point in time, I need to be doing a lot of thinking (so if I’m just sat by the pool on holiday staring off into the distance, I’m actually working… totally…) and noting, not writing full-length short stories about characters I don’t know in a world I don’t entirely understand!

Believe me when I say the decision not to finish Camp NaNo 2016 is not an easy one. I feel unaccomplished, and only the thoughts that I’ve got two weeks with no real internet (only my phone) and my novelling notebook to keep me company make me a little happier! I hope that over the next two weeks I can plan and character develop and world build until I’ll be ready to tackle actually writing my novel when I return!

I’ve been in a cabin with great mates, so that is the only bummer that I didn’t write more in Camp! – this has never happened before, by the way, most of my randomly assigned cabins haven’t really worked out!

Today, for example, I wandered around the palace ruins at the bottom of my road and came up with a great idea which will span a chapter or two, so I feel like that’s what I need to be doing – getting to know my characters, not writing about them. I’m aware that I’ve repeated a lot in this post, but I also think that some people will say something like, “Yeah, but surely writing about your book characters is the best way to get to know them?” Well, maybe for some people but not for me, sunshine!

I’m a little annoyed at myself, yes, but overall I am, as the title suggests, completely and utterly okay that I didn’t finish Camp NaNoWriMo this year. I had fun, and I’m so looking forward to continuing on with my novel!

If you are doing Camp NaNoWriMo, good luck to you in his last week (and a few days)! You got this! ^_^

Leave a Reply

