Bookishness · Top Ten Tuesday

10 Bookish Facts About Me

10 bookish factsIt’s Top Ten Tuesday! [A meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.] And you know what that means…

  1. Despite it being one of my favourite series’, I only read Harry Potter a month before the final film came out! I know, it’s crazy, right?! Still, I managed to read all 7 books and watch all 7 films before the final one came out and I’m still super proud of that.
  2. I really, really love Westerns and historical fiction, but… I’ve actually read mostly YA this year. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve loved it, but I’ve only read one Western. Some Westerns are really old though, and I struggle with the writing style which is a tad annoying.
  3. I once dropped a library book in the bath. It was one of the Percy Jacksons, perhaps the 4th or 5th and I felt awful and thought I was going to have to pay for it. Thankfully, I had a great school librarian. (I don’t tend to have baths anymore.)
  4. I can’t break the spines anymore! Before, I used to just break the spines and be over with it, but since the last year or so I just feel really bad about it. Yes, I’m having feelings about sliced up trees. LEAVE ME. (jk, jk, come back)
  5. I hit my friends with books if I like them. Like the books, not my friends. I mean, I like my friends too. But if I like the book and I want you to read it… run. Now.
  6. I’ve never really gotten into audiobooks. Aside from the fact they’re super expensive, I always get confused/struggle to listen to them. The bus is really noisy and it’s not like I can write and, uh, read at the same time. Unfortunately.
  7. I almost always listen to my boyfriend’s book recommendations. I’ve read a few that he’s leant me now and they’ve been so good. Good Omens even made it onto my top ten books I read in 2015.
  8. I use bookstagram, and I think it’s definitely helped me to read more. I just seem to swallow books nowadays. If I’d been reading like this at the start of the year, that would have been impressive.
  9. I keep thinking of books to write, and then finding them on the shelves. I have to admit, it’s getting rather repetitive. Leave some for me, lovely authors!
  10. I spot-collect Black Beauty and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I have 3 copies of the former and 4 of the latter. I also spot-collected Pride and Prejudice with for my mum and we have about 21 copies I think! I’m going to catalogue them here if you’re curious.

So there you have it! What’re some bookish facts about you?

Oh, and fact number 10.5: this is essentially my reaction when I see books:

tumblr_ljz8se2hht1qcvjgaigqizs1

(In that order)

Until the next time, folks!

7 thoughts on “10 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. I love audiobooks, but I can only listen to them if I’ve read the book first, otherwise I miss too much. I usually buy my favorite books (or ones who I know have good narrators) when they come on sale on audible, and listen to them while I drive or do chores. But I don’t think I could ever listen to an audiobook before reading the book itself. My concentration isn’t good enough for that lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love audiobooks, even though I don’t listen to them very often. Checking them out from the library helps when I’m not sure if I want to listen to a book, plus, it’s free and I don’t feel as bad if an audiobook doesn’t work for me and I end up returning it to the library. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

    Like

  3. I’m sort of edging my way into the bookstagram world, and by edging I mean lurking at the sides admiring all the pretty photos. I will confess I’ve not yet read anything based on seeing a bookstagram though.

    As for number 9…even if another author has written something similar to your idea, no one can write the story you would write. So I reckon it’s always worth writing it anyway 🙂

    Like

    1. I love the bookstagram world (although I HATE Instagram’s new update… with a passion). You should totally sign up, it’s so much fun!
      Yeah, I mean I feel like I HAVE to write the story anyway because the characters won’t leave me alone! ;D That’s a very optimistic thing to write, though, and also very true ❤
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

