Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Books for Summer 2016!

So, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, and the TTT for this week is anticipated releases. As I’m unlikely to be buying (new) books over the summer, I’ve gone for the top ten I want to read! (It includes a couple of releases too, don’t worry.)

ttt; summer 2016 reads

  1. the-unexpected-everything-9781471146145_hrThe Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
    THIS ARRIVED IN THE MAIL YESTERDAY! I am so so happy that it’s finally here! I’m seriously excited to take this one away with me and read it over the summer. 😀
  2. Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
    Why only these three? Because these are the only three I own! I want to get in on the sass that I’ve seen wafting around whenever these books are mentioned. I love ACOTAR/ACOMAF. I WANT IN.
  3. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany
    Okay so this one will be  a new release on July 31st this year, but I have it on pre-order! I can’t wait to read this, as it’s rather unlikely I’ll get to see the play (unless I am incredibly lucky and get a Friday Forty ticket!) so reading it is of course the next best thing! I’m taking it straight up to my boyfriend’s after I’m done (which will be in like a day, obvs) so his family can share in the Potter glory! Although I have to wait until I’m back from holiday to read it… 😦
  4. 240px-cover_going_postalGoing Postal by Terry Pratchett
    My boyfriend and I co-own this, but I still, uh, haven’t read it. Apparently it’s really rather good and I’ve loved all the Pratchett books I’ve read before, so I’m super excited to get stuck into this one!
  5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    If you can’t believe I haven’t read this… please, don’t kill me! I think this’ll be a great summer read, and I’m excited to get my teeth stuck into it! I can’t wait to see what all the fuss is about. 😉
  6. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
    Ok, so this one is kinda cheating as it would technically be a re-read but I haven’t read this book in so freakin’ long I kind of have to get my teeth into it again. I love this book so much. I urge you guys to go and read it if you haven’t already!
  7. Front Lines by Michael Grant
    I got this one from Waterstones in early May, and I really wanted to read it then but never got around to it! It’s one that I am so so eager to read this summer. I think it’ll be a really interesting read. starcrossed-trilogy
  8. Starcrossed Trilogy by Josephine Angelini 
    So, I picked up this entire trilogy (yes, really) at a charity shop for like £3 or £4? I’d very recently had a discussion about it on bookstagram with someone, and that’s why I picked it up (and I was super excited to get the whole trilogy too. There’s nothing I dislike more than not being able to afford the next installment in a trilogy you love. And hey, it was cheap so if I don’t like it there isn’t a lot of money lost and I can pass it on afterwards 🙂 ). I don’t want to take these books to uni with me, so I have to read them before then! (Also apparently this is about Greek Gods, SO YES SIGN ME UP.)
  9. Infinite Sky by CJ Flood 
    I got this one for Christmas in a Simon & Schuster set of books. This book, interestingly, has no blurb on the back cover, just promotional quotes. And no blurb inside. So I have no idea what it is about. Sure, I could read up the blurb… but I think it’ll be far more fun going in blind! It was in a set with Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Year of The Rat, both of which I really enjoyed, so I hope it’s good!
  10. Where’d you Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple 
    Finally, this one which is a huge copy as it is an ARC which I picked up at a charity shop. I know therefore that it might not be identical to the final piece, and it might have typos, but hey-ho, and it’s always super fun having an ARC (it’s basically the finished book too so that’s cool). I heard a lot about this when it came out, and I want to read it!

IMG_8185There are so many more I want to read this summer: Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan, which I now finally own; The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder which I bought last year in America and didn’t read; To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han which is the same (but is also an ARC! I got this one from the Strand bookstore); and Solitaire by Alice Oseman – I think I got this one for Christmas maybe two years ago (oops) and still haven’t read (and I’m super regretting, because it sounds great!). I have to get through my library stack (or, y’know, do I?) before I can get stuck into these! But I’m super duper looking forward to it!

What’re you most looking forward to reading this summer?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Books for Summer 2016!

  1. Ah! Percy Jackson was great! I need to finish the Heroes series. And I am actually reading Throne of Glass for the first time right now AND just pre-ordered the Cursed Child! Twins! Great minds think alike 🙂 Cool post!

    Like

    1. Haha, I love Percy Jackson! The ending of the last book in the Heroes series may make you feel like you’ve been cheated, by the way, so definitely read The Hidden Oracle afterwards, because it clears up so much 😉
      Haha, that’s so cool! Are you enjoying Throne of Glass? I can’t wait for the Cursed Child.
      And thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard some people say that the beginning of Throne of Glass is slow, but I enjoy world building so I am very much so enjoying myself. I love Celaena so much right now. And the Cursed Child *eekk!!!*

        Like

Leave a Reply

