Beautiful People · Writing

Beautiful People #18

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_nBEAUTIFUL PEOPLE is a blog tag thing from Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In. It’s for writers to get to know their books and characters better, and for readers to find out about the blogger’s WIP!

I want to write a book – well, start writing it – over the summer (I’ve actually blogged about it before, here). A brief background: it’s about a female centaur (name: unknown) living a realm cross between Ancient Greece and a fantasy place which, obviously, is invented by yours truly. I have no idea what happens but I have a few ideas about the fantasy part of it, which I am sure will be discussed in the future! These questions were all thought up on the spot, and are helping me to plan and prepare for my next novel! (YAY) 

gryffindor-cheering-quidditch-dean-thomas

  1. What is their first childhood memory?
    Her first gallop with her family. It’s an incredibly happy one. 
  2. What were their best and worst childhood experiences?
    Best is definitely being able to run and gallop in the area they travelled in, being able to do whatever she wanted to! The worst… well, that is of course having to look after her alcoholic father whilst her mother was off being shared around the camp. Centaurs are generally aggressive alcoholics but she knew how to stay out of her father’s way. 
  3. What was their childhood home like?
    She lived with a group of people who moved around a lot – they didn’t have a permanent home. She enjoys the nomadic life, but doesn’t like what her centaur companions sometimes leave behind. 
  4. What’s something that scared them as child?
    When the centaurs would go off to a party, leaving many of the females and the younger ones and come back drunk, sometimes covered in blood, sometimes with extra trophies, and sometimes not all would come back. 
  5. Who did they look up to most?
    Her mother, although she didn’t want to turn out like her. 
  6. Favourite and least favourite childhood foods?
    Favourite: red berry vines. The berries themselves were poisonous (if eaten in large quantities) but the branches they grew on are chewy, fruity and very tasty, especially on a long hike. Least favourite: nettle soup. She doesn’t like soup much anyway, but nettles? Ew. 
  7. If they had their childhood again, would they change anything?
    There wouldn’t be much she could change, but perhaps making herself more known to everyone in the herd would have been better, considering what happened later on. 
  8. What kind of child were they? Curious? Wild? Quiet? Devious?
    A quiet child, but also very adventurous. She’d often quietly leave and return with a prize she found somewhere. Her mother always looked out for her, and so did her father when he wasn’t drunk. 
  9. What was their relationship to their parents and siblings like?
    With her mother, it was a strong bond, but she always feared she’d have to do the same when she was older. With her father, it was also a close relationship, and he taught her much – she didn’t fear him when he was drunk, but she didn’t particularly like to deal with him. Her brother was a few years older, and she didn’t spend much time with him, but he was always caring and protective. 
  10. What did they want to be when they grew up, and what did they actually become?
    When she grew up, she wanted to be an explorer. Perhaps with her bond mate [stay tuned dear readers and I’ll tell you about that soon!] or perhaps on her own. Although centaurs are nomadic, she wanted to settle down, make herself someplace to live and thrive in a community. As for what actually happened… I’ll, uh, have to tell you when I find out. 

So there you have it! It’s all very undeveloped and some of these answers may change, but YAY.

I’m thinking of trailing back through Beautiful People and answering more of the questions. I might post some of the more interesting ones here… Maybe?

Have you done Beautiful People? Let me know in the comments and I’ll check it out!

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People #18

    1. Haha, thank you! Halo by Zizou Corder is the only book I know featuring centaurs (aside from Percy Jackson) but the protagonist is human 🙂 I can’t wait to start writing! Heading over to check out your BP 🙂

      Like

  1. For a story in the earliest, planning stages, I’d say you have a lot going for you already. I love how much thought you have put into the traditions, tendencies, relationships, and the plot line already. I’m intrigued to know why the centaurs would so often become drunk (I assume this because not only is her dad a drunk, but also because of your answers to #2 and #4) if they also are prone to violence in this state. Tradition? Addiction? What is the nature of these parties, and why would something so scary be a part of ordinary life?
    Additionally, I wonder what sort of story this will be, and I already feel a bond with the main character.
    My last thought is simply that CENTAURS ARE AWESOME!!!
    I can’t wait to see what you do with this story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR LOVELY COMMENT!
      I’m a classics student and a lot of centaurs in Ancient Greece were wild and drunk and trashed human parties! Although mine’s in a different world I wanted to keep this aspect, but add in a new one of them being kind and caring. I think her dad isn’t happy with their lives which is why he drinks more but he’s also a centaur that can hold his drink and knows his boundaries. 🙂 As I said, he’s not very well-developed but the first thing that came to me was the fact he drank a lot.
      I think it’s going to be a literal and metaphorical journey sort of book! Adventure fantasy! I’M SO EXCITED TO FIND OUT!
      Thank you so much! I’ll make sure to keep my blog updated! 😀 ❤

      Like

      1. You’re welcome! Now that I know you are taking this from classical roots and a background of mythological knowledge, it sounds even more impressive. I love literal and symbolic fantasy journeys, and this sounds awesome! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. YES YES YES YES THIS!

    Sorry. I’m just really overexcited by the fact that you’ve amazingly managed to incorporate lots of traditional centaur mythology while still keeping it different and your protagonist is brilliant and I’d just really like to read it if you would please write it all now.

    I know I’m being unreasonable. Your book is so tantalising that I don’t really care.

    Like

  3. I love how you’re exploring something relatively “normal” (alcoholism and family/community aspects) through the lens of fantasy. What an interesting idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

