Insecure Writer's Support Group

#IWSG: My Next Book?

Insecure Writers Support Group BadgeInsecure Writers Support Group is something I’ve (unintentionally) skipped for a month or so and I hope not to be kicked out SO HERE IT IS AGAIN. IWSG is an online support group (with a Facebook group and everything) for, well, insecure writers. It’s kinda self-explanatory. The first Wednesday of every month is posting day, so here I am!

And this time with an actual insecurity.

I finished my first novel a couple of months ago. It’s a terrible first draft, and I’m not ready for the willpower it will take to polish it (the idea is so far-fetched anyway, I’m not even sure it’s possible and some of my characters changed so wildly… yeah.). I want to write this summer, but the trouble is… I don’t know what to write.

The first idea is currently a vague summer romance contemporary, set in a foreign country – one I’ve visited, so research isn’t going to be such a massive issue. I love contemporaries, but I’ll never have written one as big as this.

The second, though, is a more thought-out epic fantasy. This would need a lot more planning, but I’m not sure if I should try to continue it and write at least the start of it this summer to continue over uni, or not. It’s taking over more of my mind, but I just want some writing that won’t take loads of work researching in a library (I’ve already had enough of studying and I still have 6 exams left), because I’m not sure if I want it set in my own universe, or the Ancient Greeks’.

What do you think I should do?

Just from looking at this, it’s clear the second idea is what’s in my heart… but I don’t know what would be best for my head.

Decisions, decisions…. Any ideas?

6 thoughts on “#IWSG: My Next Book?

  1. Hi Loni,
    Leave that finished novel on a shelf for six months or so. You’ll see it with fresh eyes when you look at it again and have a better feel for what to keep and what to change.
    In the meantime? Heck, go with what you want to write. Don’t worry too much about the research at this point, when you’ve written the first draft, then you can look at what you actually need to research rather than wading through tons and then only using a fraction of what you learned.
    As for your universe or the ancient Greeks – why not make a choice for the time being (or a mix of the two), but bear in mind that you can always change your mind – as you go along you’ll probably find that one fits more than the other and then you can adjust later as required.
    All the best with your exams!
    Angie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great advice, thank you so much! I haven’t been able to get the second idea out of my head, so I think I’m going to go with that. Thank you so much! I feel buzzing!
      (PS I saw your second comment – Loni’s a great name too! 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

