Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books I Picked Up On a Whim

top ten tuesday to postNowadays, I don’t pick books up on a whim unless they’re at a sale, on a sale, at a charity shop or someone else is buying… (thanks, mum!). However, obviously, I do pick up books on whims (occasionally!) and they always seem to be good (well, often…) so in no particular order, here are my Top Ten (latest) Books I Picked Up On a Whim.

miss-peregrines-home-peculiar_book-cover

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

My mum bought me a handful of books last summer and this was one of the ones that I’d heard a bit about and picked up thinking, “Yeah, may as well!” I really enjoyed it and it’s one of my top books of the year so far. I haven’t picked up the next two yet (apparently they’re not as good which is sad) but that may be a summer job!

2ebfe883-9352-412a-b861-3f3265a3119d

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

WHOA. Okay so I can’t remember where I picked this up, but it wasn’t a book I knew I was going to like – it was definitely one I picked up on a whim, thinking, “Well, other people seem to like it so I might as well give it a go.” BUT I’M SO GLAD I DID. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR SO FAR IF NOT EVER. (Stay tuned for my rambling ACOTAR/ACOMAF post later this week!)

11761656

A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery

Also one my mum bought for me (my mum’s great) and I really enjoyed reading this book. It’s one I need to reread because I last read it a while ago, but it’s a great YA novel and I’m glad I took the punt on it.

21idzifkxyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

This was one I bought in an Amazon sale! I enjoyed it, even if it was a little unbelievable in places and I’m not entirely sure if I like Stargirl. Still I’m glad I read it as it seems to have been one of the books that you “should read”.

41jtpyjh04l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I Was Amelia Earhart by Jane Mendelsohn

I picked this up at a second hand bookstore when I was in America. The reason why I enjoyed this so much is because it’s the type of book I want to write. So, HELLO, of course I’m going to like it!

51zz2whw1rl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The King of Ithaca by Glyn Iliffe

This one was from a library book sale, and I picked it up for 40p! I chose it because I knew who the title was referencing and as Odysseus is one of my favourite people, I picked it up and read it in Greece! I loved it, and I definitely want to read the others in the series.

burial-rites-978144723316901

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

This one was a library book and I’d heard a lot about it and heard that it was good but when I found it I just took it home. THIS WAS ALSO ONE OF MY FAVOURITE BOOKS. It’s also the type of book I want to write and yeah basically this was awesome and I need my own copy so I can read it again and again.

51xarzbgkwl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

I have honestly no idea how this came into my possession (I think I picked it up on the title and cover at Waterstones?) but I enjoyed it so much I now own two others in the series. I just love these books so much, I’m having to drip feed myself so I don’t go straight into a book hangover.

41saywqiv5l-_sx316_bo1204203200_

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

This was one I picked up cheaply on The Book Depository and I enjoyed the book. It was a childhood one I missed out on, and I’ve since been forcing it on my family (love you family).

odhquote1-399x600

The One Dollar Horse by Lauren St John

I own and have read the whole trilogy of this but I picked up the first book thinking, “Yay, horses!” I loved the whole concept and St John’s writing, and I would love my own one dollar horse… well, a girl can dream.


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I do them occasionally… when I remember. ;D

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Picked Up On a Whim

    1. It certainly does! It took me ages to get it, haha!
      Oh, that’s interesting! Miss P has been overshadowed by a couple of other books I’ve read recently, but I hope that if I read the sequels they don’t ruin the first book 😦 I’ll make sure to check out your list! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh oh I want to read Little Prince so badly! I should library it, tbh, I don’t know why I haven’t. 😄 hehe And I just read Stargirl recently! Although Im’ not sure I liked it? I don’t know what message it was trying to get across, eeek. But the homeschooler stereotype was a bit awful. *sighs*
    AHH THE COVER LOVE FOR BURIAL RITES IS REAL! Omg. Love it!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked The Little Prince! Definitely library it! And yeah, I fel the same about Stargirl! Everyone was saying it’s great and I wasn’t sure…
      IT’S SUCH A PRETTY BOOK. I ADORE IT.
      Thanks for stopping by here too! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love The Little Prince. My sister got my kids a beautiful pop-up version, but I might actually be the one who reads it more often…

    I feel like books you pick up on a whim that turn out to be great feel like such a victory!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

