Short stories

Sunshine Sweetheart//Flash Fiction

tumblr_nv2verahau1shoquno1_500

I lay in bed, staring up at the glow-in-the-dark stars mummy had bought for me. I wanted to get up and go and see daddy but he slept and looked sad a lot nowadays so I didn’t.

The blue cast itched on my leg. Daddy brought breakfast to my room so I didn’t have to walk.

Daddy helped me to get dressed and then took me downstairs to wait for Auntie Chris to come and get me. The doorbell rang, but Auntie Chris let herself in anyway, just as daddy came down the stairs. He came over and crouched down in front of me and put a bow in my hair. “There. Don’t you look lovely?” There was a large, black car waiting outside. I stood at the doorway. “The sun’s shining for mummy, sweetheart,” daddy said, crying already. I buried my face in his shoulder and held him tightly.


Submitted to Ad Hoc Fiction for the “bow” challenge.

150 words – 15/05/16

One thought on “Sunshine Sweetheart//Flash Fiction

Leave a Reply

