Insecure Writer's Support Group · Writing

In Which I Wish I Wasn’t a Writer

There’s, like, 4 Ws in that sentence.

But here’s why I wish I wasn’t a writer.

  • Because if I have no motivation or my fingers are too cold, I feel worthless.
  • In a society like ours, I’m unlikely to be able to live full-time off writing (and let’s face it – how good am I really, in a world full of Rick Riordans, Sarah J Maass and JK Rowlings?) so I’m going to be stuck in a job I hate for the rest of my life, wishing I’d been able to pick a decent career path like engineering or teaching.
  • I struggle to stick to one idea, and I hate to plan. I want to write fantasy… so HOW can I do that without sufficient planning?
  • Basically every time I don’t write I feel like a failure, so that just sucks and I know I’ve already said this but really it’s happening a lot and it sucks more than you can possibly imagine. 
  • My characters cause me heartbreak by being too perfect.
  • My characters cause me heartbreak by then going and dying on me.

So there are quite a few reasons for me to wish I wasn’t a writer.

But here’s one reason I am glad I am:

I love it. 

My doubts can go shove themselves where the sun don’t shine.


This was a self-doubting post brought to you by Hannah Brown who is now feeling much more motivated.

One thought on “In Which I Wish I Wasn’t a Writer

Leave a Reply

