Previously In My Life...

Previously In My Life… #8

This week’s been good but this weekend has been pretty… “eh.” BUT SOME COOL STUFF HAPPENED TOO. Like a writing competition! Rick Riordan books! AND SUN!

piml cover

piml what i did

13152863_1167064969984535_1750099122_n.jpg
So beautiful!

Well to start with, I became a year older. Yeah, that’s right – Tuesday was my birthday! I am officially an adult. Apparently, anyway. I had a great night with family, family friends and Jake, and it all went rather well, really. (thanks to everyone who made it awesome! And the food was great which is always an added bonus…!)

What else did I do…. well, I did a fair bit of work (boo) and a fair bit of reading (yay) and an okay amount of writing (yay…?).

I also watched the first episode of Jane the Virgin on Sunday, and I enjoyed it so I’m launching into this show! Does anyone else watch Jane? (Oh and hello Once Upon a Time! I got spoiled for this show sadly but I’m still going to be watching it.)

So that was… y’know… basically it. 😄 I had fun though!

piml what i readTRIALS OF APOLLOWell, I finally read my first book of May last week on Thursday because Trials of Apollo took forever to arrive! (It came out on Tuesday so I thought it’d arrive then or Wednesday as it was shipped last Friday… but no such luck.)

HOWEVER, it arrived and, yes, I read it…

  1. Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan
    I know I’ve just said this, but y’know, I’m a stickler. I’m going to do a video response to this because I have so much to say about it and am banned from book reviews (grr). Aside from a slow start, however, it really picked up and I loved it still. Some of the original Percy Jackson-style writing is back and I LOVE IT.
  2. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan et al.
    I got this out from the library and it was really rather surprisingly quick to read… it was rather simplified but now I really want to re-read this series. It was a good read though, even if it only took me like half an hour!
  3. The Elite by Kiera Cass
    I wanted to read a YA novel, so I picked up this YA/dystopia. I don’t think it was as good as The Selection but I still enjoyed it. I’ve been spoiled (annoyingly) of how it ends so I’m just anticipating getting there!

piml what i wroteWell. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeell.

So, I was planning on getting my May Writing Challenge going… however, I only managed to get to Day 2 before I a) forgot and b) was too busy revising (okay so that isn’t a bad excuse). I’m thinking of dropping my final story (of which the idea was absolutely terrible) and using that extra week to both catch up and keep up with my second story… oops.

However, I’m really enjoying the story! The main character isn’t coming out as well as I hoped, not sassy enough or grumpy enough or kind enough which is annoying because those are all integral character traits the plot needs but there we go.

I’m so looking forward to story #2. A murder mystery where we already know the murderer (who’s a bumbling idiot)! I can’t wait.

WRITING COMPETITIONOH! I NEARLY FORGOT! I also got first place in a writing competition which was really awesome! I wrote a non-fiction article on the Dambusters if you’re curious. 🙂

piml what i postedI didn’t post as much as last week, but there we go.

  1. I blogged about books published on my birthday (aka 3rd May) and funnily enough I’ve been immersed in all three worlds I mentioned this week….
  2. I also posted about 10 things on my bucket list! I want to complete all these (and then some!) some day.

Hoping to post more often this week! (despite this being on Tuesday… yes, I know I’m late!)

piml and another thingIT HAS BEEN SUNNY THIS WEEK! I AM IN AMAZEMENT! (As I’m typing Zeus is dumping a load of water on us but eh at least it’s warm!)

How’s your week been (okay so it’s Tuesday but use your imagination!)? Anything fun? are you reading any of the books I’ve gotten through? Let me know in the comments! 😀

4 thoughts on “Previously In My Life… #8

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, ANCIENT ADULT!! *showers you with cake crumbs* And omg congrats on winning that writing contest! THAT IS AWESOME!
    I’m so so excited for the new Riordan book. *shrieks* I’m going to be ordering it super soon and I can’t wait for more of his epic writing. Rick Riordan is basically an autobuy author now. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nom nom nom, thank you! xD And thanks! I’m so happy and AMAZED! I LOVED what I was writing about so I guess that helped a lot!
      It’s great. The next one comes out this time next year, though – I don’t know if I can wait that long! He’s my auto-buy author, definitely. I love basically everything he writes, even if I hate some of the stuff in it, it it’s actually a secret love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

