2016 · Bookishness · Me In General Really · Previously In My Life...

Previously In My Life… #6

In which I discuss my failure to readathon, our generation, and a rather successful movie night.

piml cover

This week I was still tired, still at college but I had a lot more fun, which is GOOD PEOPLE. THAT’S A GOOD THING. YAY.

College isn’t, apparently, all that bad.

piml what i did

So this week, I’ve just been doing quite a lot of revision during the week to be honest. I watched The A Word (so not ready for the last episode), did a bit of reading, and I don’t remember much more than that aside from being tired basically.

My revision is going… okay. I’m seriously behind in psychology, classics is getting there and in English I feel like I’m starting to get better in my revision (essays – not so much. But at least the revision part is there!). I’m retaking exams in psychology and in classics (my first exam is in a month and two days! Eek!) – psychology being in a month and being first. I think that’s okay, I’m about half way through my first round of revision so that’s all right, I think! I’m glad I remember a lot more than I thought I did.

I also tried to vlog – I recorded a couple of videos – and my editing software packed up! 😦 I’ve tried to reinstall it and fix it etc. but thus far nothing is working – so there’ll be no videos for the forseeable future. But I’m TRYING!

18th birthday partaaayAaaaaaaand this Friday was my and Jake’s (boyfriend’s) joint 18th birthday party! We had a skittles night at a pub near where he lives (about 40 minutes from me!) and had a great all-round night. My best friends from another college came too so it was great to be able to see them again! (I miss them!) I came second to last in the bowling though – I was feeling sick for most of the evening, which SUCKED BIG TIME and put an overall downer on it but no one else figured out I was feeling like crap so that was okay and the sickness passed after an hour or so and I was able to be more bouncy again. I was feeling really sick in this photo too but I don’t think you can tell aside from my apparent grimace.

And then on Saturday, Jake and I had a movie night in at my house which was GREAT. We watched my favourite film of all time – X-Men: First Class – and cuddled under blankets and ate popcorn (me: sweet; him: toffee) and it was all-round greatness in an evening and we’ve both resolved to do it again soon (with each other obviously).

piml what i read

I read one book this week! That was The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares. I really enjoyed this actually, I’d had it on my shelf for years and hadn’t read it because I’d passed it off more as a kid’s book – but it was actually pretty amazing, and not at all for much younger readers than I! I’d love to read the others in the series too. It was a bit darker than I expected, and when my editing software is up and running again, I’ll do a video review. 🙂

IMG_8061And I am currently reading A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I’m about 1/3 of the way through it so far (as soon as I’ve finished this post I’m going to get into bed and read until the lights go off!) and I’m loving it! I’ve had this on my shelf for a few months and I don’t know why I didn’t listen to the hype and pick it up already! (To be honest, hyped books scare me a bit but I think that’s another post for another time.)

piml what i wrote

Uuuh… Well, I don’t remember writing much, to be honest with you. I’ve just uploaded a blog post to Laura Thomas Communications (for review, so it probably won’t be up yet!) but other than that I’ve only been provisionally thinking about my next YA novel, which I want to write over the summer. I have a few ideas, but I might have to discuss it with other people and my writing muses before I release anything on here!

Aside from that, I did write a 5 word story for a mini challenge of Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon! I posted it on Instagram accompanied by a picture of my beautiful boyfriend:

“T’would seem I’m in love,” if you can’t see the picture.

piml what i posted

In a step up from last week, I posted two blog posts this week! *le gasp*

  1. Firstly, I was surprised by the kindness of a boy on my bus on Monday, and wrote a post asking if we are a lost generation as everyone seems to think. I think it’s a big question, especially if we judge people of our own age, and it definitely doesn’t have a simple answer.
  2. And then I blogged about Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon! I didn’t complete much in the read-a-thon – I read about 30 pages of my book and, as you can see above, I did one of the mini challenges. But I had fun doing that, and more importantly I had a brilliant  time with my boyfriend so to be honest I’m not overly bothered. But, I can’t wait until the read-a-thon comes around again!

piml and another thing

Hormones messed me up all freakin’ week. They’re honestly driving me crazy. I hope it’ll be at least slightly better when I’m not as stressed, but I’ve been fairing better since my period actually started. *shakes fist at Mother Nature aggressively* I had a pretty great week though, despite all of the pain and mood swings (I apologise to my family and friends).

Also I’ve listened to this song about 10 times so far this evening so I feel like I should share it with you:

Hope you had a nice week everyone.

Hannah out.

Leave a Reply

