2016 · nanowrimo · Writing

I FINISHED MY FIRST NOVEL!

Cover 1 redone
The crappy cover that keeps on coming back!

Okay. Phew. Breathe.

Now you might be interested to know that writing this blog post is adding on to the 11,061 words I have written today (*distant cheers*). Because today I finished my National Novel Writing Month 2014 novel, Vindicta!

As you just read, probably in shock, I started this novel in 2014. Saturday 1st November 2014 at 15:23 to be exact.

On November 30th 2014, I became a NaNoWriMo “winner” and passed with 50035 words. And then, I stopped writing, with only 3 chapters and an epilogue to go.

Why? I think it was because I hated the characters. So much. Unbelievably, actually. I hated the story which is full of plot holes. I was exhausted. I had just started sixth form college and work was beginning to pile up. So I stopped writing. And then last night, I had an idea for a film script, which I’m intending to write sometime soon.

I was raring to write my film script – I put on my NaNoWriMo winner’s t-shirt, and felt prepared. And then… I got the sudden urge to, instead, finish my novel.

So I sat down. And over 3.5 hours, that is what I did, managing to write my first 10k+ in a day in the process.

12278252_1128423840515315_749878586_nI won’t say I’m “finished”, but there was some definite pride being able to write “THE END” in caps at the end of the epilogue (which made me cry btw). I’m proud of myself; I’m proud that my family are happy that I’ve done it, that my mum even exclaimed, “There’s a competition in the Daily Mail for a first time novelist!” and my dad grudgingly telling me it was in the recycling bin (and is now next to my laptop). I’m glad that my boyfriend did a little cheer. And, for some reason, I feel lighter. I used to tell myself about once a month, “I need to finish Vindicta soon,” and now I have. Which is cool.

12516346_1128420850515614_67324067_n
BUT WHAT DOES BADGER MEAN?!?!

What did I learn from the whole process? Well, firstly that it’s never too late to finish what you started (even if I did leave some sort of cliffhanger on the last chapter I wrote a year and a half ago and still can’t remember what I meant so I’m just going to edit it out). Secondly, that I really need to plan better because writing “BADGER” in block capitals, underlined and exclamation-marked means nothing months later. (WHAT DOES IT MEAN, BRAIN?!) Thirdly, that sometimes you just get an urge to do something, and therefore you should do it. If no one comes back from the future to stop you, how bad of a decision is it really?

And finally, that if I put my mind to it I can do anything, including killing, maiming and traumatising characters! Yay!

So yes, I am unbelievably proud and happy of myself, and I think I am allowed to be because I have actually done something cool!

Whilst I go to Greece over the next week, I’m going to have a break from writing in general… and then I think I’ll use Camp NaNoWriMo in April to at least get started on re-reading (remember, it’s been a year and a half since I read most of this!) and round 1 of editing of my first. ever. novel. *screeches in delight*


Some stats

Total words: 65,406
Total hours: 21.7
Average words/hour: 3009
Longest writing session (hours): 1.1
Best words per hour: 4698

App: Writing Journal

View my Vindicta page here! 


What was the first novel you completed? Are you still writing it? Do you have any editing and revision tips for me? LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS! 😀 

 

11 thoughts on “I FINISHED MY FIRST NOVEL!

      1. Best of luck. I know from experience how you’re going to look at what you wrote with an expression not unlike Jack Sparrow and wonder what drugs you were on while writing. But trust me, the story is there. You’ll bring it out. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Believe me, I understand how difficult it is to actually finish a book. It took me years of failing at writing books before I found a system to let me finish them and also allow me to write them quickly. The first book was a mess. Talk about run-on sentences! But after several rounds of editing (thankfully my degree covered that so I didn’t need to outsource that) I was able to clean it up and make it into what it is today. It’s not perfect, just like most books aren’t, and especially looking back, I’ve learned a lot since I wrote it. There’s less chaos as I’ve grown accustomed to my writing style, and as a result, less overall editing to do. You’ll also begin to notice how you evolve over time. If you read books from authors in chronological order of when they were written, you’ll see an evolution. That’s always a good thing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

