Top Ten Tuesday

Ten Books to Read If You Are In The Mood for Some Tears

Hello, so I am finally doing a Top Ten Tuesday post after not doing one for a while!

Now the title may seem weird, but I am classing tears as both happy and sad so there are some happy books on this list! Yay!

  1. THE BOOK THIEF BY MARKUS ZUSACK.
    SAD TEARS. DEFINITELY SAD. But it’s also kinda happy at the end in the epilogue… basically, I cried a lot whilst reading this book, and you should too! ;D
  2. ATONEMENT BY IAN MCEWAN. 
    SAD TEARS. DEFINITELY DEFINITELY VERY VERY SAD AND MAYBE SOME BITTERSWEET TEARS AS WELL. You should totally read this book, it’s awesome but my how I sobbed…
  3. ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS BY STEPHANIE PERKINS. 
    Happy tears! Yay! I loved this book and I cry a lot at happy things (so some of these books may seem a bit weird to you… just so ya know) so this was, of course, one of the options to cry at. 😉
  4. THE ODYSSEY BY HOMER. 
    Is it weird that I’m putting epic poetry on the list? Anyway, Odysseus is ❤ and the Odyssey is also <3. I loved this poem, and it was awesome. And Argos! *CRIES HEAVILY INTO CEREAL (I don’t know why I thought cereal but it was the first thing that came into mind)*
  5. THE WRECK OF THE ZANZIBAR BY MICHAEL MORPURGO. 
    This one is also bittersweet tears. I cry pretty much every time I read this (and believe me, I’ve read it a lot) AND IT STILL MAKES ME CRY, THIS IS NOT OKAY AND YET I KEEP READING IT.
  6. THE COMPLETE MAUS BY ART SPIEGELMAN. 
    This is a graphic novel, so I’m not sure if I can count it, but it’s definitely worthy of being on this list. I sobbed so badly, especially when there was the picture of Art’s father in there…
  7. THE SHOEMAKER’S WIFE BY ADRIANA TRIGIANI. 
    This is one of my favourite books (that alone should go and make you read it…) and it made me cry because it was so happy and yet so sad and I wanted to hug the characters and noooo I’m crying just thinking about Enza and Ciro! *sobs manically*
  8. HAVE A LITTLE FAITH BY CANDY HARPER. 
    I cried with laughter reading this book. It’s aimed at people younger than I am, but it was so frickin’ funny. I leant it to someone and never got it back but yeah, it was great.
  9. KAIMANAWA PRINCESS BY DIANNE HAWORTH. 
    I cry every. Damn. Time. I’m not sure if it’s happiness or sheer longing of still craving riding and a pony (I AM A GROWN UP CHILD) but this book makes me cry and it’s one of my favourite New Zealand reads.
  10. HARRY POTTER SERIES BY JK ROWLING. 
    I mean. Ob…viously.

So there you have it, my top ten books that make me cry. Some of these can make me cry just by thinking about them. Admittedly, I cry easily so books here might make you think “what is she on about” but even if you don’t cry when you read, all of these are great books and I really recommend them! 😀

What was the last book that made you cry? Mine was To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee 🙂

5 thoughts on “Ten Books to Read If You Are In The Mood for Some Tears

Leave a Reply

