2016 · Updates/Random · Writing

I Am A Terrible Blogger: An Update

Hi, guys.

So I haven’t blogged on this blog since the 21st February, which was a week ago today. There are a few reasons for that… Firstly, I just haven’t been able to think of anything to blog about. I’ve had a pretty rubbish week, nothing much really happened… So yeah.

Secondly, I’ve been thinking up new things to blog. For example, I’m going to start doing a ‘Friday Fiction’ post, where I’ll post a short piece of something old I’ve either located in the hidden depths of my documents, or something I’ve been working on during the week. I might post a few of the short stories that have received a good reception from To Warm Frozen Fingers, or I might post an excerpt from the story I’m currently working on (as I’m writing this blog post, it’s Your Lover, Tom which you can read if you click that link). Anyway, if you have any ideas of things which might get me posting more often, please let me know. I might start doing “This Week in Books” which is a tag I’ve seen floating around on WordPress, and considering I’m on my third book in two days, it might be a fun thing for me to do.

Thirdly, I’ve just kind of lost my mojo in everything I found enjoyable. Occasionally, like once every couple of days, I’ll find the enthusiasm in me which makes me go “yeah, I want to write” but it goes pretty quickly and if I find myself distracted for a few moments, it’s gone. I’m having so many problems right now and I feel like I’ve spent the majority of this week either in tears or close to it.

That got a bit personal, so, uh, sorry for that. I love blogging, I really do, but both this blog and my other, Sprinkled With Words, is suffering from my lack-of-being-able-to-blog. I even had great ideas which I was really excited to write about on my other blog, but I just didn’t have the motivation to do it. And I’m still trying to figure out if it’s a “just get your ass into gear, Hannah” or if it’s a “okay this isn’t right”.

So guys I thank you all for still following me on this here blogging platform, and I hope you continue to do so! I’m about to head on over to my other blog to post a similar apology/explanation there. Comparatively, this has taken me about 5 minutes to write… and yet I just can’t get started. Gah. I’m finding it so difficult.

If you have any words of wisdom, please leave them in the comments, or even get in touch with me on some other platform, I feel like I need them! I hope you guys have had a great week and are looking forward to the next. Stay cool, stay tuned, and have fun.

2 thoughts on “I Am A Terrible Blogger: An Update

  1. I went and I read both your posts and I’m going to leave a comment on the other one as well but right now I do have some advice.
    1. don’t be afraid to take things a little slower. (this sounds bad but it has helped me when I was in my own rut earlier)
    2. when you get an idea but don’t have time for it right that minute write it down, it might just inspire you to write later.
    3. Stop doing any form of work an hour before bed time and turn off your phone at the least 15 minutes before you go to sleep. Your brain constantly thinks of work so it has trouble falling asleep or at least falling into deep sleep.

    I’m sorry if this is way off, but this is what basically helps me and I hope it will be of some help to you too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

