Bookishness · Tags

Book Tag! Soundtrack of My Life

Firstly, thank you so much to Charley over at bookinnerd for tagging me to do the “Soundtrack of My Life” – in books! She actually tagged my other blog, Sprinkled With Words, but this is more a bookish blog, so I’m doing it over here. 🙂

ANYWAY, on with the tag! (I’m so super excited for this.)

Opening credits: favourite childhood bookmalory-towers

Well now, that would have to be Malory Towers by Enid Blyton. This is kind of a cheat, because it’s a series, not a book, but if I had to pick a favourite of all six, it would have to be the third. Dear old Bill!

Waking up: a book that got you out of a reading slump

51a6rmaqknl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Hmm, this one’s actually quite tricky. I don’t really get into reading slumps, I just don’t read for a couple of days, and then I read a load of books at once. I’m going to say To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, because, although I haven’t actually read it yet, I’m hoping it’s going to get me out of the kind-of-slump I’m in right now.

 

School: a book you read for school and ended up loving51s9rjvgjfl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

This one would have to be True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey. Everyone else hated it, but I really enjoyed this one compared to the other one people marginally liked: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. I was going to say Shooting an Elephant and Other Essays by George Orwell, but he’s a great author and I love his work as a whole so I think that might be cheating.

Falling in love: an author you love so much you want to read all of their books

Hmm, this one’s quite hard actu- OH WAIT NO IT’S NOT HAHAHAH RICK RIORDAN. WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME RICK, WHYYYYYYYYY………

(also I’m not going to put a picture for this one because his books have ripped me apart and I’m not prepared)

6357708Fight: book with the best action sequences

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce wins this one, hands down. It’s fantastic, in fact the whole fairytale retelling series is. I so strongly recommend it.

 

Break up: series you don’t intend to finishmarked

I tend to finish what I start, but one series I didn’t finish and don’t intend to any more is the House of Night series by Kristin Cast and PC Cast. I read the first few or so, and I got really into it, but then I could never find the next in the series and I forgot what happened and what-not. If I can, of course I’ll read it; but I’m not intending to.

9171sv4rg5l-_sl1500_Hanging with friends: a book that you think everyone should read

This one, without a doubt, is Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson. It’s a fantastic adventure novel, set historically (I can’t remember the exact year) and I love it to pieces. There’s even a bit of childish romance which is so adorable and is my bookish OTP. Basically, if you can, read this book. It’s due for a re-read with me, and I’m sure I’ll love it even if I’m only guessing due to my extremely battered copy.

n369669Breakdown: a book that seriously affected you and/or had you crying your eyes out

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys (who had a new book come out on Feb 4th if you were curious). It’s nothing like 50 Shades, I can guarantee, and it’s such a heart wrenching story. I recommend it.

PS: it has its own website. How awesome is that?!

il_570xn-815328037_m8qzRoad trip: your favourite series (3+ books)

I’m going to have to go with the old cliché here. Now, after me: do do da do da dooooooooo do, do do da do da doooooooooo……

 

Flashback: your favourite book from 5 years ago

I can hardly remember what I did last week, let alone 5 years ago. I was 12, so it was pre-Potter. Probably Peter Pan or something like that.

11761656Getting back together: a book you can’t stop rereading

Currently, that’s A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery. I just… wow. Read it.

Moment of triumph: longest book you’ve read

Hmm… Now that’s tricky. I think it’s probably one of Rick Riordan’s, I read a few of his books recently. I honestly don’t know, though, because I don’t tend to keep track of page count! But yes, one of his. I plan on tackling Game of Thrones soon, so that’ll eventually be the champion in this category!

(Oh, or Order of the Phoenix by JKR! That might be the longest. But it’s a close-thing, really. 🙂 )

51hgknew2bxl-_sx332_bo1204203200_Death scene (morbid): book or series you wish had ended differently

Paper Towns by John Green. I read this earlier this week, and the ending was so anti-climatic. Very John-Green-esque, but not for me.

Funeral: book with the best/worst epilogue

Not many of the books I read have epilogues, but it’s a neat draw between all of Jackson Pearce’s Fairytale Retellings series, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

End credits: who do you tag?

  1. Jake @ The Desolation of Baug (oh, come on sunshine, you knew it was coming)
  2. Ashley @ Words We Heart
  3. Imogene @ Amidst The Pages/MuggleBooks
  4. Becca @ Becca and Books (Ps, I love your banner)
  5. Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff

Once again, thanks Charley for tagging me and I hope that if you’re tagged you have fun doing it! 😀


PS: I HAVE DISCOVERED HEADINGS! Only, what, 3 years on WordPress, and I’m finally figuring out some of the formatting… *sigh* Anyway, this should be fun!

PPS: I know some of the pictures etc. are out of format, but what I see when I edit and what comes out on the blog post are quite different… I’m trying! Sorry.

4 thoughts on “Book Tag! Soundtrack of My Life

Leave a Reply

