Insecure Writer's Support Group · Writing

#IWSG: Posting Writing Online!

#iwsg 2When I was younger, I wrote a lot of fanfiction (as in, every night I was writing fanfiction… that’s a lot of fanfiction). I posted a lot of this online, at fanfiction.net and later at Archive of Our Own.

Since then, I posted a few of my own works online. But if you have a look around in the depths of the internet, there are only a few I haven’t recaptured and taken down.

Why? Well, I felt awkward about posting my work online for everyone to see. I was uncertain about it. I struggled to finish long bits of text, even if I thought posting them would help me. (Yeah… they didn’t.)

I’m only just getting back into posting my writing online. I don’t get many views – in fact, I’m lucky to get one – but it’s out there for everyone to see and I enjoy posting it! And, I’m being confident enough to not take them down this time! (Except the awful cover. I might redo that at some point…)

So yes I feel that, although I’m not posting novels and I have taken down my novella, I’m getting somewhere with short stories. Who knows, maybe I’ll progress at some point!


Insecure Writers’ Support Group is a kind of, well, support group for, uh, insecure writers. You can find them here. 🙂 insecurewriterssupportgroup2

 

6 thoughts on “#IWSG: Posting Writing Online!

  1. I have a hard time posting work online, myself. The only places I’ve actually done it is for feedback like on Scribophile. I’m working on several projects, and so I tell myself that they just aren’t ready for others’ eyes yet! 😉 Of course, I have no projects ready for others’ eyes in my mind, and that’s bad! I need to stop worrying about “perfection” and get things “good enough” to share. 🙂

    So I understand is what I’m saying. I feel that awkwardness every time I post something–and that’s with knowing it’s imperfect and needing help. So I also applaud your bravery to keep posting and sharing with others!

    Like

    1. Haha, yes, I just strive for “good enough”, which is sometimes “very very good” in other people’s eyes I think! XD
      Thank you! I have a little flurry every time I put something on the interweb for all to see!
      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Happy IWSG day! One of the hardest things for me to do even after becoming a best selling author is to put my words out there for everyone to see and have an opinion about, it is awful but we must do it. Keep moving forward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

