Writing

Beautiful Books #1 (Uh… yeah)

Ah, yes. Smell the glorious, panicky smell of a writer who’s doing things in the wrong order… yet again.

beautiful books

I had such great fun doing the last Beautiful Books, I wanted to do the first one, too. Y’know, just because. (PSST: Thanks Cait and Sky for hosting!)

So, for this one I’m also looking at my NaNoWriMo 2015 novel, so click here if you want to find out more about that. Now, on with the questions!

  1. How did you come up with the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?
    Uh. Well, I don’t really know, the idea kind of just came to me when I wondered the back story of Macbeth, and we were looking at Lady Macbeth’s soliloquy in Shakespeare’s play when she talks about a child. My mind immediately asked questions, and I, probably stupidly, am trying to answer them. So, I haven’t had it for long – since about October, maybe? It’s not very well fleshed out, I have to admit.
  2. Why are you excited to write this novel?
    Well, it’s historical fiction, I’m loving the characters, and it’s about a play I know well and kinda like. Also, it hasn’t been done before! (YAY!) At least, I don’t think… (Ah…)
  3. What is your novel about, and what is the title?
    It’s called “The Macbeths” or “Thane of Glamis” – I think I like the second one more, and not just because my boyfriend thought it up! It’s a kind of prequel to Shakespeare’sΒ Macbeth from Macbeth’s birth to the beginning of the play when he turns 35 years old.
  4. Sum up your characters in one word each.
    Macbeth: adventurous
    Findlaech (Macbeth’s daddy): heroic
    Doada (Macbeth’s mummy): aching
    Lockie (the doggy): dead. (Haha, okay that was mean. Uh… friendly)
    Those are all of the main characters that have appeared thus far.
  5. Which character(s) do you think will be your favourite to write? Tell us about them!
    Findlaech! Okay, I’m kind of cheating as I’ve already started to write, but I love him so much! He reminds of me of a character I wrote about in 2012, my MC’s dad (also…). He’s brave and caring about his family and he loves his wife dearly, even though she’s already had a child before she came to him.
    Later on in the book, I do think it’ll be Macbeth, though, once he’s old enough to have more adventures. It’s tiring writing at 5 year old who doesn’t do much.
  6. What is your protagonist’s goal, and what stands in the way?
    Uh, well, I guess Macbeth’s goal is to survive through the trials that are thrown his way. I mean, it changes throughout the whole book. Currently, it’s to be a great warrior and get an education. Later on, it’ll be to marry and avenge his father’s death, then it’ll be to marry Gruoch (Lady Macbeth) and survive and win the civil war. Lots of things stand in his way: the weather, disease, war, and treachery of other people.
  7. Where is your novel set? (Show us pictures if you have them!)
    11th century Scotland! It’s so beautiful, although obviously I only have photos of modern day Scotland.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    PSST: Check out more photos here!

  8. What is the most important relationship your character has?
    Ooh. I’d say Macbeth and Findlaech, his father. It sets the course of his life, but obviously his first wife and then Lady Macbeth, which influences later events.
  9. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
    He’s a grown, fighting man, who’s had his heart broken more times than he can count but is still a hero. He’s fiercely in love with his second wife, Lady Macbeth, and his child. That’s the thing I want to get out of this novel: understanding Macbeth, and understanding that he wasn’t a bad man really. He was a good man who bad things have happened to, and, to me, although he always had the characteristics to be a tyrant, it’s only in Shakespeare’s play that this comes out. If anyone ever read this novel, that’s what I’d want them to understand about it, too.
  10. What themes are in your book? How do you want your readers to feel when the story is over?
    I think my first theme is family. Macbeth has lots of family attachments, from his own parents, to siblings, other spouses and then also his cousins. The second is love. Love is what affects Macbeth’s childhood, and then it’ll shape his life in the future and then it’ll affect Shakespeare’s play. The final one is heroism. I believe that the character of Macbeth, whilst he descended into tyranny in Shakespeare’s play, was a hero. As for my readers, I’m not going to tell them what to feel or how to feel, but I’d like them to get a sense of understanding and perhaps therefore thinking more widely in what they read, about the life behind the characters.
  11. BONUS!Β Tell us your 3 best pieces of advice for others trying to write a book in a month.
    Ooh, ok! 1) Make sure you keep up with your social life! Otherwise you’ll come out and it’ll be big and scary. Even if it’s just a 10 minute phone call, if you work from home. It’ll also give you time to relax. 2) Don’t be afraid if the words don’t come! It took me less time to write more words the more I worked on it last year. 3) Warm up! OK, so writing isn’t a sport, but you still need to warm up. Try grabbing some story cubes and throwing them to make a story, or look up some sort of generator online. Set your timer for 10 minutes and go, go, go, then you’ll be super ready for pumping out your novel’s words! Good luck! πŸ™‚

Eek, now I’m super pumped to get back into writing my novel! *happy dance*

Keep in touch! Twitter, Instagram, NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

