Fanfiction · Writing

Fanfiction: Why it is NOT a Bad Thing to Write

fanfiction; not a bad thing to writeFanfiction. It’s sometimes a difficult topic for some people, especially with the new “Kindle World” platform (which I’ve only just discovered) which lets fanfiction writers publish and earn profit from their fanfictions.

Personally, I think that fanfiction is good and should be encouraged for young, uncertain writers. It’s a good way to branch out, and if you share your work online, it’s also a good way to meet new people and gain confidence in your own writing. However, I don’t think that it should be published on “Kindle World”… but that’s not the point of this blog post, so I’ll leave that to the side – for now.

I started out writing fanfiction, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I still write it occasionally (this actually came about because I had a strong urge to do it!). On the contrary, I think that if you do know someone who writes fanfiction, you shouldn’t laugh in their face, but instead encourage it! Fanfiction isn’t harming anyone, is it?

So unless it’s absolutely crazy (uh, listen to George Orwell’s 6th Rule of Writing*) then feel free to write to your little fanfiction-addled heart’s content.


*Break any of these [aforementioned] rules rather than say anything outright barbarous.


And, yes I am aiming to write a short Harry Potter fanfiction in the next week or so. Because, y’know, I want to.

One thought on “Fanfiction: Why it is NOT a Bad Thing to Write

Leave a Reply

