nanowrimo · Writing

The Joy of NaNoWriMo

NaNo-2015-Participant-Badge-Large-SquareI haven’t had an amazing year for writing. I haven’t done anything especially awesome. Most things have been marginal – I don’t even remember doing much. Granted, I’ve been both busy and have had a lot to cope with, but I’m slightly disappointed. So, I asked my mum if I could do NaNoWriMo. And she said no.

*sad face*

Then I told her about the YWP…. and she said YES! I AM NANO’ING THIS YEAR! On the YWP admittedly, and aiming for 30,000 words instead of the usual 50,000, but I’m really pleased that I’m actually going to be writing and doing stuff instead of procrastinating and feeling sorry for myself.

Moreover, I have an idea I really want to write about this year, so, as you can imagine, I really want to write it. Like, really. Even if I hadn’t been doing NaNoWriMo, I probably would’ve written it anyway, but, undoubtedly, it would’ve taken me much longer and I’d’ve procrastinated much more (I’m so baaad at it… Or good. Depending on which way you look at it.)

Whilst NaNoWriMo is a little stressful and not everyone I talk to about it understands why I’d do that to myself, I find it enjoyable and fun. Seeing words eat up the page sentence after sentence is a real joy, and, like I said, I can’t wait for this year’s idea!

I’m struggling to work with my desk in the (very messy) state it’s in, too, so NaNo and having more work should be a good motivation for finally getting organised this year. (It’ll happen! Hopefully.)

Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? Why/why not? Are you looking forward to it?!

PS: Feel free to add me on the adult site, and the YWP site. 🙂
(And here’s my Camp NaNoWriMo profile if you were curious.)

2 thoughts on “The Joy of NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

