Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Bookish Things I Wish I Could Stop Doing

ttt;bookish thingsi  wish i could stop doingSo this week’s Broke and Bookish theme is one I actually think about a lot. You’ll probably see why as my list carries on.

  1. Continuing reading books I don’t like. 
    Okay so this one paid off in the latest book series I’m reading, but sometimes I just finish a book and think, “Well… that was tedious.” I’ve only DNF’d a couple of books, but I probably shouldn’t waste my reading time reading books I don’t like.
  2. Getting too many books out from the library. 
    They’re books I want to read. They’re well-kept. They’re FREE. AND I HAVE TOO MANY WHYYYYYY.
  3. Buying too many books. 
    They cost monies. I could be buying jumpers or cat toys with that money. And no I’m not talking about my cat because sHE’S LICKING ME. Eugh.
  4. Finding something else to read instead of the stuff on my shelves. 
    I’ve gotten better about this recently, but still. Authors, stop publishing books for a couple of months… taa.
  5. Taking forever to write up book reviews. 
    Seriously, there are reviews from last year I still have to write up.
  6. Finding loads of big, hardback books to read when I can’t cart them around.
    Small paperbacks, please. Although hardbacks are GLORIOUS.
  7. Adding books to my TBR list on Goodreads like, all the time. 
    I have about 200 books on this thing.
  8. Starting one book and then just… stopping. 
    I haven’t read Bear Grylls’ since February…
  9. Spending more time on bookstagram than actually reading. 
    Although, this wonderful community has seemingly bolstered the amount I’ve read recently.
  10. Starting a series and not finishing. 
    I’m actually on the second book in a 4 book series right now, which I WILL finish by the end of the year, but I’m terrible sometimes. I’ve only read the first of A Series of Unfortunate Events.

So, what are your bad bookish habits? Let me know! Do you have any of mine? …probably. Readers have terrible habits sometimes…

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Things I Wish I Could Stop Doing

  1. Continuing to read books you don’t like is a good one! I do that too, sometimes even a whole trilogy. Theres clearly other books i could read instead but sometimes i have to know what happens even if i didn’t like the book (sadly the Selection trilogy was one of these)

    Like

  2. It took me years of trudging through books to finally learn to DNF them. The lure of knowing the end is strong . . .

    I totally check out too many books from the library, too. Mine offers a weekly email of their new acquisitions, and a 25-book electronic hold list. So all I have to do is click a button to get in line. This can end in piles of books. But there’s always more books begging to be read, right?

    Like

    1. Most of the books I’ve read recently have been quite good, actually, so I haven’t felt the need to DNF them but in the past I probably should have with some…
      There’s no such thing as too many books! 😉

      Like

  3. I continue reading books i don’t enjoy as well. I always hope it gets better. I just can’t believe that there really are that many books that have been published that are bad, i always wait for the good part.
    What i do have to say is that 200 books on your goodreads list? I think i have over 700 on my “to be read” list. So i take your number in exchange 😉

    Great list.

    My TTT: http://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2015/10/top-10-tuesday-my-top-10-bookish.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

