Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books That Mean A Lot To Me

ttt;books that mean a lot to me

So this TTT is a “freebie” so this is the title I picked! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and you should definitely check them out!

These books are ones that liked and impacted on me in some way, so I’ll put the genres and ages after them, if you fancy a read.

  1. Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson. This is pretty much my all-time favourite book, and although my copy is falling apart it still needs a re-read! (Adventure, Historical fiction, 11+)
  2. Peter Pan by JM Barrie. – That is, the book adaptation, not the play, because that’s quite scary. Such a great book. Peter Pan In Scarlet? Not so much, I DNF that one. (adventure, fantasy, 9+)
  3. Kaimanawa Princess by Diane Haworth. This is a horsey, New Zealand book and as I have relatives who live over there, they send me an appropriate New Zealand-settinged book. I really enjoyed this one, and I’ve read it a few times. (Children’s fiction, adventure, horse fiction, 9+)
  4. Malory Towers series by Enid Blyton. This was the series that got me into reading. Love it. (Adventure, school-girl, historical fiction, 9+)
  5. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce. This was the series that told me how I wanted to write, and gave me the inspiration to keep doing what I was doing because some day I would be this good, too. (Action, werewolf, fairytale retelling, fantasy, 13+)
  6. Harry Potter by JK Rowling. Got me back into writing after nearly a decade of break (that’s right, I started writing when I was 5 years old) and effectively changed my life. (Action, adventure, fantasy, 9/11+)
  7. The Odyssey by Homer. This might seem odd, but this has really made an impact on me: it’s changed what I’m studying at the moment, and it’s such great escapism. And I found my hero: Odysseus! (Epic poetry, adventure, 13+, simply for the language)
  8. The Lady in the Tower by Marie-Louise Jensen. The book that got me reading historical fiction, and the first “true love” story I read. (Historical fiction, 11+)
  9. Popular: A Memoir by Maya Van Houten. The book that made me realise I wasn’t alone. (Memoir, 11+)
  10. The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo. The book and author that continued my love of reading after Malory Towers and made me believe in happy endings. (Historical fiction, 9+)

So, there you have it. What’s yours?

PS follow my book instagram to see more books I love!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Mean A Lot To Me

Leave a Reply

