Education

Warwick & Stratford-Upon-Avon

IMG_8674[1]
Clockwise, top right: English department corridor (feat. fairy lights), me and mum in English dep. corridor, books in psychology section of library
This weekend I’ve been up a bit more north than usual at Warwick University and then we took a detour to Stratford-Upon-Avon (yes, that’s Shakespeare’s birthplace) on the way home. And saw my aunt, who lives in Rugby (where modern rugby was invented, funnily enough) too.

Warwick is the first university open day I’ve been to, so I don’t really have anything to compare it to. It rained, horribly, but it had a nice bookshop, so there’s that.

IMG_8688[1]
Books from Warwick Uni bookshop feat. new lunchbox AND a cup of coffee
It’s a campus university, so basically everything is there: a supermarket, coffee shops, library, gym (inc. a climbing wall), bookshop, cinema, theatre, and obviously all of the lecture/seminar rooms. The student accommodation we went in to (we only went into one building because it was chucking it down and basically we wanted to get to the hotel) was really nice too, kind of like staying in a hotel I guess. (How fancy!)

IMG_8741[1]
Some pictures from Stratford today including Shakespeare’s birthplace: bottom left!
Then today (Sunday, also Father’s Day) we headed to Stratford-Upon-Avon because basically I’ve always wanted to go (in living memory, apparently I went when I was about 2 years old) and we thought, “Might as well.” It was on our way home, so it’s not like we took a massive detour, too. And the weather was actually decent and it was basically really super nice. (And the water doesn’t even taste weird when you’re not as north as Yorkshire.)

So now I’m home and I have 4 new books (well, 1 book and 3 novellas) to read, so I should probably be off doing that. And also reading a play my boyfriend leant me before he needs it back tomorrow.

Oops.

Leave a Reply

