Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR List

ttt - summer tbr 15

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, and I try to do them whenever I a) remember and b) get around to it. This week’s is top ten books on my summer TBR list – for those who don’t know, TBR means ‘to be read’. I’ve already bought 4 to read this summer, so I’ll put a couple of those on here, but others… well, let’s find out, eh? (It’ll be finding out for me, too, because I never know what I’m going to put on these until I make the actual lists.)

  1. Long Journey to Deep Canon by TT Flynn.
    I bought this book along with 2 other Westerns for 50p each at a shop a while back, intending to read them this summer… so of course they had to be read!
  2. Heartside Bay: The New Girl by Cathy Cole.
    Like the book above, I also bought this for 50p and though it’d be a fun, chick-lit read on a beach somewhere. I don’t know where, yet, but THERE WILL BE A BEACH. (Even if it’s just a pot of sand in my back garden, I think that counts.)
  3. Harry Potter by JK Rowling.
    I don’t really know if this counts, as I have of course read it before, but I’m planning on re-reading it, so yay! More Hogwarts for me! (And more sorrow come September. Although I’m planning to go on my college’s Harry Potter trip so, y’know. HARRY POTTER *WHOO*. (*Ahem*))
  4. Narnia by CS Lewis.
    These books were missed out from my childhood, so I’m planning on catching up this summer. Yes, I have them and yes I cannot wait to read them. (Also, I’m planning on using them in a project I’m doing for college, so, y’know, I kinda have to read them…)
  5. Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein.
    I’ve read The Hobbit, but not LoTR. So, I probably should, eh? Perhaps I’ll take them on my plane journey to America? I guess we’ll find out. But, like Narnia, I’m planning on using LoTR in a project, so I kinda need to read them too.
  6. Percy Jackson and the Greek Gods by Rick Riordan.
    I can’t believe this is on my shelf and I haven’t read it yet.
  7. The first 3 in the Dark Touch novels series by Amy Meredith.
    Why only the first 3 (there’s 4)? Well, they’re the only 3 I have… These have been on my shelf for ages and they’re quite small, so I think I can read them fairly quickly. (Actually, y’know, maybe I’ll start one tonight… Hmm, yes. That sounds good.)
  8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.
    When I did Top Ten Classics I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read YetLittle Women was number 8 on the list. I’ve downloaded it onto my Kindle and I think it’s time I read it. And although there was originally a sentence here about Emma Watson in a film adaptation of it, I am saddened to discover that this is not true. 😦 Still. Books.
  9. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
    At my old school, some people studied this book. I didn’t, but I still would like to read it, and over the summer I would have enough time and energy to actually get onto it. (Also on Top Ten Classics I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet: number 1)
  10. Paper Towns by John Green.
    I thought I should probably put some sort of YA realistic fiction in and as the film is coming out and I have this book but have yet to read it, this was the perfect candidate. Roll on.

So there you have it: my Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR list. (I should probably keep this handy.) What’s yours? 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR List

    1. I’ve read TFiOS before and Looking for Alaska, so this’ll be my third (not counting an Abundance of Katherines because I didn’t finish it…)… I don’t really know if I should be looking forward to it or not! I’ve heard very mixed reviews. Still, as you say; the film should be interesting, and hopefully the book too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

