Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romance

Like The Broke and The Bookish, I am going to split my list into 5 likes and 5 dislikes. Let’s go on…

Likes:

  1. Humour. adore humour, but especially when it comes to romance, and especially sarcasm or slapstick humour!
  2. Cutesy stuff. Okay, I might write and often read about blood, death and gore, but if a guy gets her a flower – even a half-dead, mangled flower – I aww and my insides turn to jelly.
  3. Historical romance. The Girl in the Tower? Despite the age gap, he was such a knight in shining armour! And historical romances like in Raven Queen can be so bittersweet they bring a tear to my eye and a huge thump to my heart.
  4. Fighting through hard times. Something else I love; when everything goes wrong, you can still rely on the love!
  5. Ending in marriage. Yes, cliché, but adorable and, for once, a happy ending!

Dislikes: 

  1. Unrealistic love. Especially ‘boom we met and now we’re in love’ type of love.
  2. Characters I don’t like being together, especially when they stay together. Unless I’m sure they’ll break up! *cough*film!Charles Xavier/Moira McTaggert*cough*
  3. Too sidelined or too big in a novel when it’s a side plot. Whilst you want to make sure readers get their fill of love, they don’t want to be smothered in it!
  4. When a love interest saves the girl somehow, and suddenly he’s her hero. Come on, at least do it the other way around for a change! (Can I just point out, Jackson Pearce does this exceptionally.)
  5. Unnecessary love triangles. Can’t we just let them be in love?

So there you are, my late Top Ten Tuesday! Thanks to Gemma and Jenny for helping, even though they’re not going to see this probably!

Leave a Reply

