Bookishness

GoodReads Read-A-Thon

So today I did something I have never done before: a read-a-thon. Organised by GoodReads, it took place from 12 – 4 in the afternoon, although I kinda read until 5 so I could finish my book.

Reading for so long, whilst it might ache your butt and/or your back, means that you can just completely, absolutely immerse yourself in the life and soul of the novel.

I felt this profoundly due to the book I was reading: Bear Grylls’Β Facing Up. I could feel the biting wind of the mountain and the sweat in the long johns, the desperation those men felt. I was lost to the world for those few, precious hours.

So, even if you only have an hour, lock yourself away and justΒ read, no distractions, not even a packet of Polos or pear drops if you can help it (speaking of which, I am really missing mine… where are they?). You’ll find it so rewarding!

My odd smile with Bear Grylls' great book(s).
My odd smile with Bear Grylls’ great book(s).
One thought on “GoodReads Read-A-Thon

Leave a Reply

