2015 · Writing

Fanfictions (Yay!)

Fanfictions, aren’t they great? A way to write perfectly happily without wondering that your characters are terrible or that they’re too 2D or characters. And the fact is that if you write fanfiction, you pretty much always love the characters anyway so it’s kind of the best of both worlds.

This week, I embarked on a new thing: writing a 6-chapter, 10000 word Doctor Who fanfiction, featuring the Eleventh Doctor and Clara Oswald.

Why did I decide to write this? Well, a number of reasons. Writing fanfiction helps me to relax because I don’t really have to think about it and I enjoy it, I love Doctor Who and miss 11, and I wanted to make my friend smile because she is the biggest lover of 11/Clara that I know, and she also adores Doctor Who. Why else would I write fanfiction, if it didn’t make someone smile?!

Another fanfiction I decided to write was (and you might find this a big yucky, ’cause all my friends did (and told me so very audibly)) a Wolverine/Rogue fanfiction, from the world of X-Men. I don’t know about you, but I really like these two together, maybe because I adore both of the characters. Anyway, I wanted this one to be a big piece, but couldn’t find a plot I liked, so I’ve decided to do lots of mini ones, kind of like novelettes, in a big plot. Kinda fun, and I’ve never done something like this before, even if it is fanfiction!

Not doing something like this before gives me the chance to try it out and see if it’s terrible; if it is, I never have to use it again. But, say I love it. I can invent my own characters this time and do this with my own mind, perhaps even use it for something decent! Okay, you might have been able to tell that this idea has just sprung into my head and I’m very excited about it, so sorry for that.

Do you write fanfiction, or am I the crazy one here? Tell me, I love to hear from you!

fanfiction_quote_joss_whedon-417818
This quote fits surprisingly well for my Wolverine/Rogue fic, I think!

 


Anyway, I’ll keep you updated guys! Write some decent fanfictions is now number 18 on my goal list of 2015 because I took out one I didn’t like, because that’s how you roll in the Shire. ;D

 

2 thoughts on “Fanfictions (Yay!)

  1. You are definitely not the crazy one. I write quite a lot, but never post anything on the fanfiction websites, because well … editing sucks. But I can totally relate with how you can just come up with ideas in a second.

    Like

Leave a Reply

